Poetry Friday: House Wrens

IMG_1077

Last night I was in the backyard and cleaning patio furniture.  I kept hearing bird noises from a place where there shouldn’t be bird noises.  This is what I discovered.

Two
fledglings
chirping noise
a mystery
the old Starbucks bag
discarded, forgotten
re-purposed nesting
parents bring grubs
scolding songs
take flight,
wrens

© 2015 Jone Rush MacCulloch all rights reserved

I hope to get a photo to add soon.  I came home and went to the nest and they had left the nest so I missed the opportunity.

Thanks to Michelle for hosting Poetry Friday today

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Poetry Friday: House Wrens

  1. Beautiful poem, reminds me of the birds in my backyard!

  2. Julie Larios says:

    How perfect that they’re using an old, discarded Starbucks bag! 🙂 Thanks for posting it, Jone.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    What a discovery. Creative birds!

  4. maryleehahn says:

    How fun!

  5. One of the best surprises of spring! Looking forward to a photo.

  6. What a sweet discovery! We had a family of wrens with four babies nesting in the space between our wreath and front door, but they’re gone now. While it’s nice to use our front door again, I do miss the cheep-cheep-cheep-cheeping at feeding time!

Comments are closed.