SOL15: Pitch Wars and Being Open

IMG_0785

Thank you to those who make this Tuesday writing community possible, the wonderful contributors of Two Writing Teachers.

Last week, I briefly wrote about my word of the year, OPEN, and submitting to Pitch Wars, a writing opportunity hosted by Brenda Drake.

This event asked that you submit  your first chapter and a query letter to five potential mentors.  There were over a hundred mentors in a variety of age groups and genres.

If after reading your submission, the mentor was interested, they could ask for a full or partial of your manuscript.  In the end only one mentee per mentor. But what an opportunity to have a one on one mentor for two months and then the chance to pitch to an agent.

DARRAH’S TILT, my novel is approaching the time to go before agents and/or editors.  I know I will feel it’s not ready enough, but I need to push myself.  Pitch Wars seemed like the perfect scenario for submitting my manuscript.

I entered with low expectations.  Just the act to send the first ten pages and a query was eye-opening.  Queries are a witch (well, rhymes with that word) to write.  But I put it out there and got feedback before submitting so that makes me happy. Plus I grew as a writer.

On Tuesday, August 18, one of my submitted mentors requested the full manuscript to read as well as a synopsis.  Can I tell you how thrilled I was to be asked?  To me, that made me a winner.

And in between then and now, I’ve been making connections in the Twitter world with other potential mentees.  There is this amazing community of writers out there and which I hope to find a someone that is writing MG contemporary and enjoys  novel in verse for further critiques of my WIP.

There was also this great post is helping me to revision my blog.

But most of all, this experience has challenged me to really re-vision my ms.  I have big questions:
* should I look at rewriting it NOT as a novel in verse even though I love this format?
* dialogue? Is there too much.  Should I rewrite with less dialogue?
* how can I strengthen the sub-plot with out diminishing the main plot?
* how can I write a three sentence pitch that will know the socks off an agent and editor?
* what am I willing to give now for what I want most?

Tonight I learned  I wasn’t selected to be a mentee and that’s okay. Disappointed? A bit. Discouraged? Absolutely not.  I am more resolved and more excited than ever to dive back into my ms because I know that it can only improve.

All this was possible because I was OPEN to an opportunity.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to SOL15: Pitch Wars and Being Open

  1. Pitch Wars required a lot of openness. I have entered two years now, and I’m still hoping for a full request. Hooray for you that you got one!!! Margaret Simon is another slicer who entered as well. We will all keep trying!

    • margaretsmn says:

      My word for 2015 is Reach. That’s what I did with my latest Blessen sequel. I didn’t get chosen. I was disappointed. I will push on. There is nothing quite like having a supportive community to fall back on. Let’s keep cheering each other on!

      • macrush53 says:

        What age and genre did you submit in Margaret? I will push on as well and actually the feedback was most helpful.
        Lets cheer each other absolutely.

      • margaretsmn says:

        Middle grade fiction. I only received one email and the feedback wasn’t too specific. I’m glad you got better feedback.

    • macrush53 says:

      Melanie, small world, I know Margaret on line. What is your targeted audience and your genre? We’ll cheer one another.

  2. Good for you for being open. That’s the first (and most important) step!

  3. Ramona says:

    You took some enormous steps. Congrats as you continue to open up opportunities for your book. Your post encourages me look for new ways to stretch (my OLW).

  4. Carol says:

    Jone, CONGRATULATIONS! You really are making yourself OPEN to opportunities! Can’t wait till I see your novel (verse or not) on the shelf. You know I will buy a copy! And send it with a SASE to be autographed! Carol

  5. Linda Baie says:

    Congratulations! I’m really proud of you, Jone, and glad to hear that you are proud of you, too! What a process, challenging to put your ‘baby’ out there for others to judge. Keep on, keep on!

Comments are closed.