SOLS15: A Saturday for Me

IMG_0785
It’s Tuesday. Time to share slices at Two Writing Teachers. 

This last Saturday was a day for me. I had an email a couple weeks prior about a poetry workshop with the Oregon Laureate, Peter Sears.  Thirteen people met at the Pond House which is behind one of the local libraries. 

I shared the info with a friend and we made a plan; breakfast and the workshop

 
Just four hours and two writing prompts. The first was a narrative poem based on a mentor poem, “Of My Father Before the War” by Frank Gaspar.  The was more playing with images.  I wish that I had a link to the Gaspar poem. It’s stunning beginning with:

“Suppose I were leaning in a doorway in Marseilles watching a volley of far clouds while two men quilted the water with their nets.”

 There’s nothing better than a mentor poem to break loose tangled ideas.  I’ve been working on three poems for a submission call. The topic is difficult; violence against women. But something about this prompt called up images.

Sears built in time to hear from all of us. Plus he gave each poem thoughtful consideration and feedback on what we wrote.  Plus feedback from the other participants, the time flew.  

It was what the doctor ordered. With all that has been happening at school and continues to happen, I needed to focus on a time for me.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SOLS15: A Saturday for Me

  1. How great that you made time and found inspiration. I love the “two men quilted the water with their nets” line. Thanks.

  2. cvarsalona says:

    What a lovely writing retreat you had Jone. I look forward to the Poetry Friday Round-Up at your site.

  3. Terje says:

    Poetry workshop as a time for oneself sounds wonderful. Poetry readings have been “my time” for me. Mom invited me to another poetry reading on Friday, and I thought I might be too tired and might fall asleep while listening. Reading your post makes me think I should go. And may be one day I get to go to a poetry workshop.

  4. margaretsmn says:

    I need to immerse myself in some good poetry. Just what the doctor ordered for writer’s block.

  5. Linda Baie says:

    A wonderful morning just for you is a blessing, I agree Jone. Nice that you went, sounds so good!

  6. Ramona says:

    So glad this time was fruitful for you. What a blessing!

Comments are closed.