SOL15: A Fitting Day

IMG_0785
It’s Tuesday and time to share slices at Two Writing Teachers. 

It’s been three years since Sandy Hook. Three years ago the face of innocence in elementary schools was shattered.  We now have key cards for the building and the only unlocked door is the front door.

We practice our lock downs with our fire drills these days.  This month we didn’t need one because we had a real lock down. (A former student stormed across the playground and then into the school wanting a tour without signing in and he had been pounding on a nearby neighbor’s door wanting his daughter). So as a precaution we locked down until the police went through and cleared the neighborhood.

So today I planned to honor Sandy Hook as I did three years ago; leaving a book in a random place for someone to give to a child. (The first year I gave away poetry books for all the victims). Well, I walked out the door without the book so that’s on the agenda for tomorrow.

But…

Sandy Hook stayed with me all day and in the middle of a Police Activities Event, I realized that I couldn’t have timed this event  any better if I had tried. Our third graders were treated to books and time to peruse their vehicles including the sheriff boat.

Our officers do this outreach to all schools about every other year.  They want students to understand that they are not “bogeymen” (their words) and that that they are here to help.  And what’s really cool is that some students open up and share very personal stories regarding how their families might have been impacted by the police.

One student described the tour of the vehicles as ‘being in heaven’ and they all lined up to get autographs from the officers.

So today, students and law officers interacted in a joyous way.  If only all interactions could be so positive and filled with peace.  I felt the presence of those Sandy Hook angels.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to SOL15: A Fitting Day

  1. Tara Smith says:

    So glad that you found something worthwhile to celebrate in the midst of all this horror. We need to have bright spots.

  2. Linda Baie says:

    I’m glad it was a nice day, Jone. Your idea of giving books in their honor is wonderful.

  3. morencyclr@aol.com says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful event at Silver Star. What an honoring of all who gave their lives that day 3 years ago.

    I love your blog, and look forward to the next post!

    Your friend, Claire 🙂

  4. Maria says:

    “So today I planned to honor Sandy Hook as I did three years ago; leaving a book in a random place for someone to give to a child.” LOVE this idea and totally borrowing it.

  5. blkdrama says:

    That’s wonderful. During my time, 9/11 was our elephant to deal with every year. Pearl River lost many firemen etc. I wonder what I would do if I were still teaching? Difficult times for kids…

Comments are closed.