SOL15: Open

image

It’s Tuesday and time to share our weekly slices. Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for providing a place to share our slices.

My One Little Word(OLW) for this year has been OPEN. It’s been a good word.
I had three focal points with this word:
*my verse novel
*my poems for children
*a plan for downsizing

By being OPEN, my husband and I put our house on the market. We sold, gave away, and threw away a lot of stuff. Our house sold and we found the perfect condo. We moved in July.  One of the biggest benefits is the reduction in travel time to.work.

I’ve opened myself to writing more poems for children.  What I must do next is to put them out in the world.

Finally, I was open to putting my manuscript into the Pitch Wars contest.
This is was eyeopening. I had one person read my work and while not selected, the feedback I received was invaluable.

Other areas that OPEN played a part in my year was to attend a poetry reading and volunteer to read a poem, I submitted poems to a variety of place, and I auditioned for a performance, “Listen to Your Mother”. Now my work didn’t get selected but I am getting more comfortable in putting my voice.out in the world.

OPEN will remain with me as my other past OLW: believe and mindful. I am looking forward to discovering my 2016 OLW.

Do you have a OLW?

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SOL15: Open

  1. Loralee says:

    I enjoyed reading your post of how your OLW has touched your life.

  2. mbhmaine says:

    I’m impressed with how open you were to so many things this past year. It’s tough putting your work out there in the wide world. Kudos to you for being open and taking all the good from those opportunities.

  3. mayawoodall says:

    I like how you try to keep your words of the past as you move forward. What a great idea. Great job opening yourself to new things. My OLW this year has been prioritize. Next year I have several words I’m considering.

  4. Good for you for being open to starting anew in a condo and for putting yourself out there for Pitch Wars. Some of my critique group members have done Pitch Wars. It is INTENSE!

Comments are closed.