SOL16: Meet My OLW

IMG_0785

Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for a place
to share our slices each Tuesday.

Brand new year. Brand new One Little Word.  I’ve been thinking about my word for 2016 over the last couple of weeks.  It’s been a bit of Mr. Toad’s Wild ride with having neck surgery for disc replacement a week before Christmas.  That was the easy part.   Two days after Christmas, I wasn’t feeling myself (and thanks to my smart phone with a heart rate feature), I went to the emergency room.  Turns out I had blood clots in the lungs so I spent two nights in the hospital.

My health is a big part of my life.  I knew that my OLW needed to speak to my health goals as well as my writing goals and other goals for this year.  I thought about MOVE and ACTIVE but I really like FOCUS.  And when I went looking for a couple of quotes for FOCUS, I discovered these:

 imagesmatter

Love this quote because my health does matter.  A lot.

010f6793b77566a0afbd6486c046c1cd

And this quote will remind me as I work on my novel.  It’s so close to being ready and yet so far from being ready.  I’ve been on break with it.  I needed to step away  for a bit and let it simmer in the subconscious.

Do you have a OLW for 2016?  What is it?

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SOL16: Meet My OLW

  1. Loralee says:

    How exciting about your novel!

    I’m so glad you went to the emergency room and that you are feeling better!

  2. Lisa Keeler says:

    Glad you are on the mend and good luck on your novel.

  3. So glad you’re all better. Wonderful word for the year. Love the quote: “Where focus goes, energy flows.” Happy New Year! Maybe we can meet in 2016. Wouldn’t it be fun to have a gathering for slicers in the NW?

  4. Tara Smith says:

    I, too, hope that yo are feeling better, Jone. Great word!

  5. Sonja Schulz says:

    Love your OLW! Focus is something we could all use more of!

  6. Carol says:

    Hope you are feeling better! Health really does matter! A LOT!

Comments are closed.