SOL16: It’s Okay to Read in the Afternoon

IMG_0785

It’s Tuesday, time to share our slices at Two Writing Teachers.

I love reading books. It’s a major reason for being a teacher librarian.

I have a secret: I seem to have myself convinced I can only read before bed. Even on the weekend. I think I have to be busy and productive on the weekend before I allow my self time to read.

I have a lot to read and am always puzzled how some people can read so many books in a year.

As part of my OLW: focus, I am focusing on the habit of reading in the afternoon during the weekend.

I tried this last Saturday. I had a copy of The Hired Girl by Amy Schlitz from the library. It was due on Sunday and had holds  so I couldn’t renew the book. So I read. I got lost in a book in the afternoon. And it was pretty neat to do.

Hoping to find more afternoons of reading. It’s okay to read in the afternoon.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SOL16: It’s Okay to Read in the Afternoon

  1. I stole the idea from Stephen King.

  2. I bring a book wherever I go … I read at doctor’s office, waiting in line to return something, at the post office (I’ve noticed if you are reading while waiting in line – they get to you faster – not too sure why.) Hired Girl was my favorite book of 2015! I read it EVERYWHeRE twice!

  3. Ramona says:

    Tattered Cover, a lovely place for an afternoon read! Jone, I totally get this. Even in retirement, I tend to put off my reading until bedtime as some kind of reward for having worked hard all day. Here’s to more daytime reading breaks!

  4. Carol says:

    I love going to Tattered Cover on Saturday afternoons to read! I don’t do it often, but it always makes me so happy!

Comments are closed.