Found Poetry Challenge: Catching Up

In February, Laura Shovan challenged us to write poems all month with found objects.  I really wanted to write for every object and had some that I didn’t post.  Here’s what I have.

Photo for Day 6 contributed by Laura Shovan

laura

Dolls

in the window
of the crone’s house
blank eyes
staring
into my soul
silent cries
for help

I photograph
them
wonder
about their stories
who played with them
why abandoned
will they find
new homes.

© 2016 Jone Rush MacCulloch all rights reserved

Photo of Day 7 contributed by me.  This was a hard poem to write and it’s still not finished. But this is what I have now.

jone

Family Myth

“It was believed that bloodletting was a very important part of healing. ~Marcia Leiter

This tale
told to me
as a child.

Benjamin Rush
my fifth great grandfather,
swift in grabbing
the steel blade
and the brass cup

traps the infirm’s arm
slice the vein
lets the red ribbons
of stagnated blood
flow free

In 1799,
George Washington
requested a bloodetting
his physician,
obliged.

my fifth great-grandfather.

Washington died

© 2016 Jone Rush MacCulloch all rights reserved

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Found Poetry Challenge: Catching Up

  1. C.J. Black says:

    Sorry to have missed out on this project you appear to me to have had fun with it?

Comments are closed.