SOL16 Day 14 of 31: A Sad Beginning for Monday

IMG_0785Everyone has a story and you can catch up on more slices for the  SOLSC at
Two Writing Teachers.

Last night I spent the night with oldest grandgirl. It was a nice evening as we watched Coraline.

This morning we got ourselves up to begin the new week.  Had to meet up with my Poetry Rock students at 8:15 so we needed to be out the door early.

I’d noticed the outside cat food needing refilling. So I went into the garage to grab a few morsels.

That’s when I noticed Jerry the creamsicle cat, on his side, barely breathing.

Oh dear, what to do?  I turned around and oldest was at the garage door.  Well, no preventing her from seeing Jerry.

I texted her mom and we agreed that oldest and I would proceed with our schedule.

This meant abandoning poor Jerry in those final moments.

Oldest is stoic.  She kept it together.   I wished we’d taken a moment to say a small prayer by Jerry.  What was I thinking in the rush of the morning.

Jerry was the one cat of the several they have that wouldn’t allow himself to be captured and fixed.  My guess is that his missing out on vaccines made him more susceptible to disease.  Apparently, he’d loss a lot of weight recently.

Jerry, I am glad you made it over the rainbow bridge. Gone too soon.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SOL16 Day 14 of 31: A Sad Beginning for Monday

  1. Veronica says:

    So sweet and honest, you captured every moment I would have been worried about — Oldest, work, leaving poor Jerry behind. I was right there with you. Thank you for such a wonderful post!

  2. emily1103 says:

    I’m sorry for your loss…furry friends are such enriching parts of our lives! I would love to hear about some of your favorite Jerry memories in another slice as a tribute to him!

  3. Oh, that’s a tough moment for anyone to have to bear witness to. So sorry for your family’s loss.

  4. Jen Robinson says:

    I’m sorry for your family’s loss, Jone. These things are hard at any age…

  5. Vickiela says:

    Thank goodness that she was with you at this moment. Death is such a touchy issue. I know that Jerry is in a better place.

  6. Lisa R says:

    That’s a difficult way for the grandgirl to learn about life and death. She was lucky to be with you right then.

Comments are closed.