SOL16 Day 28 of 31: School and Family Systems

IMG_0785Everyone has a story and you can catch up on more slices for the  SOLSC at
Two Writing Teachers.

One more week until our spring break.  If the coming week is anything like last week, it’s going to be a l-0-n-g week.  Last week saw a lot of students acting out.  We are a sixty percent free and reduce lunch school.  Recently I learned about ACE (Adverse Childhood Experiences) scores.  It has been an AHA moment for me to see that it isn’t that we are a school with poverty but a school that has many students with high ACE scores.  Students who have seen/experienced trauma that seems unheard of from my childhood (more likely it just wasn’t openly discussed).

Someone said something to me at school last week that I didn’t have an answer.  It was something like that students were watching our difficult students do things and get rewarded thus encouraging negative behavior.  What do you say?

I believe that when students are acting out at school, it’s because it’s not safe to do so at home.   We need to our classrooms to be a safe haven for all.  We need interventions and supports to provide an ounce of prevention.  It’s muddy and messy and often a gray area.

We are a PBIS school (Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports).  We are in the process of going deeper in our understanding of the Tier One supports.

We need to better understand how important tackling issues with the support of the family system.  It’s one of the reasons I am so glad that our district is working to change the environment of schools by staffing a Family Resource person in our building.  A person who’s a social worker and is able to work with families.

We need to have hope.  Hope that families will change or at least attempt change.  In my heart of hearts, I find it hard to believe that parents want to be bad parents.  For the most part they love their kids and sometimes breaking the generational cycle is challenging.

So while I didn’t respond to the person’s comment, I have been thinking about how for the coming weeks, I will focus (my OLW) on kindness and hope with staff and students.

This entry was posted in school, SOL16, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SOL16 Day 28 of 31: School and Family Systems

  1. cvarsalona says:

    I agree that building relationships with students and parents is key in understanding how to deal with conflict and issues. Thank you for illuminating me with information about ACE and PBIS.

  2. We have 95% on FREE lunch. Our behaviors sound about the same. One of the things we talked about in a meeting was that we tell students to tell us when someone else does something to them but parents are telling them to hit back/handle it themselves/etc. It’s very hard to go against what is being taught at home. I also preach kindness… everyday, all day. It sounds like your district is taking the bull by the horns and trying to make a difference. Good luck!

  3. Ramona says:

    I love the tone of your slice. Recognizing the issues faced by many students in your classrooms, you’re choosing to respond with hope and kindness. Kudos to your district for staffing a family resources person! I wonder if some of the acting out is in response to students afraid of being in their home environment for break (a place where they feel less safe than at school).

Comments are closed.