SOL16 Day 30 of 31: World Bipolar Day

IMG_0785Everyone has a story and you can catch up on more slices for the  SOLSC at
Two Writing Teachers.

Today is World Bipolar Day.  Did you know it’s celebrated today on the  birthday of Vincent Van Gogh? He was posthumously diagnosed as probably having bipolar disorder.  The vision of WBD is to bring world awareness to bipolar disorders and eliminate social stigma.

Husband was diagnosed with bipolar disorder nine years ago.  It was a matter of getting him in front of the right doctor at the right time. Dr. A. only listened to husband with his clipped, non-tangental speech for five minutes and made the diagnosis.  All the pieces of husband’s life fell in place.  And it explained so much.

I love him dearly.  He can be a handful.  So thankful that he doesn’t fight the meds but they can be challenging.  In 2011, we went on a cruise for his 60th birthday.  Well, a month out the doctor changed his meds to lithium.  Do Not Change prescriptions just before a trip.  Lithium being a natural salt is tricky.  You have to monitor it closely and drink enough fluids and hot weather can affect it. He ended up with restless legs, a side effect and the warm weather of the Caribbean made it difficult to regulate the medicine. He was miserable.

Today he’s takes medication that works for him.  Mood monitoring is important. REgualr visits to his psychiatrist are required. Sometimes husband’s reality and my reality don’t match and the doctor needs to know that. Downsizing last summer has been a big help.  When we had the house and the quarter acre of yard, it was overwhelming for husband.

Self care is important for me as his caregiver. There are days that I am frustrated with the disease, sometimes his thinking isn’t clear. I must remember this is part of the disease.

Writing is key to my care. Retreats like this weekend is part of my self care.   I just found this great site for care givers:  Bipolar Caregivers.   I am thankful  mental illness is slowly coming out of the shadows.  The stigma needs to be removed.

Do you know someone with Bipolar Disorder or a caregiver of someone with the disorder?  Embrace them with kindness and compassion.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in SOL16, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SOL16 Day 30 of 31: World Bipolar Day

  1. Wow! Thank you for sharing your story. I, too, think that mental illness needs to lose the stigma. It’s a real b#$@% to live with when someone you love is diagnosed with it. Take care Jone!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    First, and maybe it was just me, but I can’t access your site from the link on TWT. When it came up in my feed, no problem. Weird.
    Second, and more important, I’m glad to read this, and thank you for your courage to share when so many are still hiding. I’ve had my own caregiving responsibilities in the past and it is not easy, I agree. I’ve had several students diagnosed with bipolar disease through the years, and it was me that supported them in the struggle, sometimes in the day to day, sometimes in our overnight trips. I’m glad that you have gotten help and check the meds and that they sound as if they’re working. Thanks Jone, hugs to you and your husband for working through the problems so life can be better.

  3. cvarsalona says:

    Jone, it is with praise for your honesty that I write this comment. Sometimes in frustration, I forget that my adult disabled son has issues. Patience, kindness, and love is the mantra I need to embrace at all times. Thanks for letting me reflect on that.

  4. It sounds like you and your husband have been through a lot! So grateful you can find comfort through your writing and other groups. It’s so important to share our stories. There is likely someone else needing the same support as us.
    I have not directly dealt with the struggles that come along with the disease, but I have dealt with similar diseases and your story brings me some solace.

    Thank you for sharing!

Comments are closed.