SOL16: Reflecting

IMG_0785

It’s Tuesday.  Time to share a slice over at Two Writing Teachers.

Last week, several teachers and staff met over several days to pre-plan the 2016-2017 school year.  One was the huge puzzle called scheduling.  Which we accomplished in four hours with rich conversations.

Someone asked me about why Library only met once a week when Music and PE are twice a week.  They just didn’t get it.

I started reflecting on the vast changes in the world of library media since I began thirty-two years ago.

In the mid-1980’s, besides teaching class, I also brought projectors and filmstrip projectors to rooms. (Wonder if anyone reading this will remember).  Today pretty much everyone has the media the need in the room.  I provide support when technology is problematic.

We didn’t computer scan books like today but created these elaborate check out books that had pockets and were laminated.

Inventory was laborious, a to person job with the shelf card list and massive amounts of paperclips.  We used them to indicate missing books.  After three paper clips, the book was declared lost.  Today, books are lost and then found in a simple scan of the bar code.

I have been feeling the crunch of time.  This coming year, I proposed that all classes have a forty minute section.  This is so I can utilize GLAD strategies and have time for technology.  And being able to work in book talks and check out time.  I am excited and a bit nervous to add 200 minutes to my schedule.  But I think it will be worth it.

On Friday, husband I are leaving for a road trip.  I am tentatively taking a blog break for July. But I may pop in.  Happy summer.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOL16: Reflecting

  1. Hi, Jone. I’m glad I dropped in and didn’t miss your farewell for a month. Your comment about the changes in Library careers made me feel sad and underscored the dilemma now facing the son of a friend. He is just about finished with his studies in library science, and jobs seem to not be abundant.

    Have fun on your travels.

  2. Tara Smith says:

    It’s always exciting, and daunting, to create change in our schedules. Good for you that you did it! Enjoy the road trip and your blogging break!

Comments are closed.