SOL16: Making a List

IMG_0785It’s Tuesday which means it’s time for a slice.  Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for providing us space to share our slices.

I drove to Bellingham, WA last Thursday to attend the Western Washington University Poetry Camp.  It was wonderfully coordinated by Janet Wong, Sylvia Vardell, Sylvia Tag, and Nancy Johnson.

I intended to write this gushing recap of the weekend but it’s been a whirlwind since I got home Sunday (ah, to have the summer days and time to think).

So I’m doing a pre-write and will offer up more next week.

  • when you pick up poets at SEATAC
  • when you walk through a toasted marshmallow gauntlet
  • thirty-eight poets plus discussing poetry
  • when planning via Google with two other people comes off as planned
  • playing with poetry forms, art, and ephemera
  • leading a session and getting good feedback
  • having a book budget and getting a start on Christmas presents
  • meeting people whom you’ve gotten to know via an online presence
  • listening to Jack Pretlusky perform…FYI:  he’s the first Poet Laureate for Children, hardly performs anymore, and it was a real treat.
  • driving home with your heart filled.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SOL16: Making a List

  1. dorireadsd says:

    I’m feeling much the same way. It was wonderful to meet you–in person.

  2. newtreemom says:

    *meeting people whom you’ve gotten to know via an online presence

    I had this experience in June when I went to All-Write. It was more fun than I can say!

  3. Janet F. says:

    So eager to hear more, Jone. How wonderful to have those visits and opportunity to be with those wonderful poets and poetry-loving friends. I have used Jack P.’s Pizza, Pigs and Poetry for some poems, and a read-to and also there is a lot about writing poetry. Do you know that book? The kids adore the humor. I felt it was something I should introduce a little later in the year in gr. 3 because it is harder (maybe, big maybe) to get them back to more descriptive, “serious” poems once they have been energized by Jack’s delightful offerings. Our favorite to recite was The Turkey Shot Out of the Oven and also The Tale of the Long-Winded, Clumsy Owl. Did I share that with you? However it is definitely kid-friendly and they love it. Also,if you have the name and contact info for the teacher whose kids recited, I would love to be in touch with him/her. You know how I adore people who understand the incredible power, beauty, fun and gift of learning poems by heart and performing them among friends. Hope to hear from you soon. Email? I know you are busy. I am coming to the next poetry camp no matter what!!!

  4. It was so good to meet you, if too brief, and to look around the room and have my eyes land on you among others who were glowing. Full heart truly says it.

  5. morencyclr@aol.com says:

    It sounds like a great experience. How wonderful to have something that lights you up! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  6. Awesome! Good luck !

  7. jehansen13 says:

    That sounds amazing! Wow!

  8. I read the title and thought for sure it would be about Santa. I like this idea though. Doing a list to tack down what you want to say can be so helpful in not forgetting.

Comments are closed.