Poetry Friday: French Twist

wp-1475278337744.jpg

Thanks to  Linda at TeacherDance for hosting Poetry Friday today.

This is in response to Kenn Nesbitt’s challenge to write a poem about your mother at Today’s Little Ditty.

French Twist

Mom wore her hair in a French twist.
A practical carefree style for a nurse
who put patients first and fashion last
with her family sandwiched in between.

A practical carefree style for a nurse.
She worked nights while dad worked days
with her family sandwiched in between.
She slept during the day with everyone at school.

She worked nights while dad worked days.
Mom found time for a weekly ritual.
She slept during the day with everyone at school
then drove to the beauty parlor on Main Street.

Mom found time for a weekly ritual.
A tiny treat she afforded herself,
a drive to the beauty parlor on Main Street
to get her hair washed, dried, and set.

A tiny treat she afforded herself,
she who put patients first and fashion last
to get her hair washed, dried, and set.
Mom wore her hair in a French twist.

©jone rush macculloch, 2016

 

This entry was posted in Pantuom, Poetry, Poetry Friday, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Poetry Friday: French Twist

  1. You’ve just showed me that the pantoum is a wonderful form for celebrating people. Your mother sounds like a wonderful person. I love the details in your poem that made her come alive.

  2. cvarsalona says:

    Jone, I read your poem on Michelle’s Padlet a few times but now I get to see the form without any distractions. I really enjoyed the way you unfolded the narrative in verse. I have never tried this format but perhaps oneday I will give it a try.

  3. This sounds so much like my own childhood – my mother was a nurse who worked nights and weekends, while my dad worked days. Somehow they made it work, for me. Thank you for this beautiful poem!

  4. lindabaie says:

    Good for your mom to take that little trip just for herself. Wow, I’d forgotten all about the ‘French twist’, Jone. What a nice poem about your mom and your family.

  5. It’s so cool that you chose the pantoum form for your “French Twist” poem, Jone. C’est magnifique! And your mother, tres belle, inside and out.

  6. morencyclr@aol.com says:

    I love this!!

Comments are closed.