Poetry Friday: #haikuforhealing

poetryfriday

 

I won’t lie.  Since last month, the second Tuesday of the month, I have been in a slump.  Write? Why? As I told Michelle, I wanted to participate in her DMC and while I made lists of words, the poem wouldn’t fall out onto the page.  There are times when pushing the river doesn’t work.

And them last night, uploading the Check It  Out blog post, I stumbled into the work that Mary Lee is doing and her proposal to write #haikuforhealing.  She says it best here:

My creative spirit, who has been sitting out on the porch with her head between her knees for the last couple of weeks, looked up and nodded. Yes, that seems right, she said. A response to the news of the day, shared in the concise metaphorical form of the haiku. 
 
#haikuforhealing
This is exactly what my heart and my creative  spirit needed to shake off the slump.  In reading others who are participating, I have two haiku to share today (one for yesterday and one for today)
I stole the last line in Mary Lee’s haiku to begin my first for the month:
light the lantern
behind the cracks of darkness
quiet murmurings
And from  A Word Edgewise, her last line becomes my first line:
rest, rest winter tide
as I scatter his ashes
the lunar pull lessens

©jone rush macculloch
#haikuforhealing

PS  New Year Poetry Postcard Exchange:  Good-bye 2016, Hello 2017!  Details HERE.

Poetry Friday is at Wee Words for Wee Ones.

This entry was posted in Haiku, Poetry Friday, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Poetry Friday: #haikuforhealing

  1. Myra GB says:

    I love the entire idea of haiku for healing – and yes the quiet murmurings too.

  2. bjleepoet says:

    Hi Jone! These haiku are absolutely gorgeous! Thank you! 🙂

  3. I like that haiku are continued and keep finding surprises. Like finding smooth stones for skipping amongst the sharp broken stones along the shore.

  4. Yes, those “quiet murmurings” bring comfort. Thank you for sharing these lovely haiku.

  5. These haiku are gorgeous, Jone! The last lines of both are so evocative—clearly you are “at home” writing in this form. I look forward to reading more! I also love your Poetry Friday “logo,” BTW.

  6. lindabaie says:

    I’m glad you’ve found something that entices, Julieanne. Your haiku, to me, are patient. I like the “quiet murmurings.” Will try to participate as I can, and look for yours!

    • lindabaie says:

      So sorry, I mis-read and thought I was reading Julieanne’s post-ack! Delete my comment if you can! I do love that you found that the haiku will keep the words going. And now I’m going to check on those postcards!

Comments are closed.