SOL17: Playing the Card?

IMG_0785Two Writing Teachers provide a place for writers to share a slice of life each Tuesday.  For that I am grateful.

I recently had a conversation with someone about Husband who is bi-polar. I wrote about it HERE last year.  They were feeling frustrated with some of Husband’s lack of social cues and commented, “He gets to play the mental illness card.”

It took me aback. Card, playing a card?  I responded by telling the person that mental illness wasn’t a card like having cancer isn’t a card.

It reminded me how much we need to bring mental illness out of the shadows.  It reminded me that many people don’t get what having mental illness means.

I used to be quiet about sharing about Husband’s illness.  Now however, I know that when given the appropriate opportunity, it’s important to speak up.

Last year, I read Sheila Hamilton’s ALL the THINGS WE NEVER KNEW.  This is a powerful and insightful book about the impact of  mental illness. Hamilton is a strong advocate for bringing mental illness out from the shadows.

Education and talking about mental illness are key to getting more to understand.

This entry was posted in SOL17, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SOL17: Playing the Card?

  1. mukhamani says:

    Thank you so much for sharing. It helps.

  2. MAK says:

    Yes, it’s painfully hard. Every. Single. Moment of Every. Single. Day. I will be joining you in reading Hamilton’s book.

  3. morencyclr@aol.com says:

    Very heartfelt and profound. Thank you! And I loved the rainbow 🙂

  4. lindabaie says:

    I remember your earlier post, and am surprised about that ‘card’ remark, as if those ill were taking advantage somehow. Mental illness continues to be a stigma that no one wants to talk about. Thanks for sharing this, Jone.

    • macrush53 says:

      It always surprising me when people think the mentally ill can pull themselves up without help.

      • lindabaie says:

        I know, as if there is something weak about it. Sometimes I think it’s because people don’t read and research then think! It’s often so black & white to them.

  5. So true, Jone. Thanks for speaking up and speaking out! I will have to read Sheila Hamilton’s book—thanks for the suggestion.

  6. carwilc says:

    I didn’t know about your husband. My oldest son struggles with mental illness. And is not ready to accept that medicine is for a lifetime. It’s hard. Every. Single. Day. I need to read Hamilton’s book.

Comments are closed.