NaPoWriMo: 04/01/2017: Painted Turtles

2017 NaPoWriMo1

I’m liking my Saturday Shadormas so to begin National Poetry Month, here’s one about painted turtles.

painted turtles

on a log
the painted turtles
sun baskers,
bug catchers,
and vegetation diners
sitting in silence

©2017, jone rush macculloch
photo by Christy Peterson

5 FPT 412017

SOURCE: Warner Nature Center Biokids

I am super excited to announce a collaborative effort with my talented friend, Christy Peterson.

Christy-head-shot-200x300

Photographer and nonfiction writer with a crazy good eye for close-ups of tiny creatures.  Last fall, I asked if she would be willing to share photos and I’d write poems for National Poetry Month. She agreed.

These are prompts. If you feel like it, leave a poem in the comments.

This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, National Poetry Month, Natural World, Observations, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NaPoWriMo: 04/01/2017: Painted Turtles

  1. Wonderful poem! I like your collaboration. It’s a great photo. A poem for you both:

    Turtles splash.
    Frogs peep, croak and bellow.
    Swans beat the water.
    Bugs buzz.
    Ducks quack.
    Poets scribble, erase, mutter.
    Only photographers are quiet.

  2. mbhmaine says:

    Love the collaborative effort! Can’t wait to see and read more during this month. Happy poem writing!

  3. margaretsmn says:

    My parents live on a lake and turtles come up on their little island sometimes close to 100 to bask in the sun. They discovered that turtles need sunlight to store oxygen for living under water. Fascinating creatures.

  4. lindabaie says:

    Wouldn’t it be wonderful to see that scene in real life? I love the ‘sun baskers, bug catchers”!

Comments are closed.