NaPoWriMo 04/14/2017, Poetry Friday: Ode to the Honey Bee

2017 NaPoWriMo1          poetryfriday

Thank you, Dori at Dori Reads, for hosting Poetry Friday.

This month, I am collaborating with nonfiction author and photographer, Christy Peterson.  You are invited to write and submit a poem based on the photo in the comments.

bee on kale blossom

Honeybee,

the smell of sweet alyssum
slips through the open window
as your golden striped pantaloons|
gather the nectar and pollen
of late summer flowers.
Your buzz, buzz, buzz fills
the morning air.
I sip green tea flavored
with the honey from your hive.
I wonder how to bring an end
to the pesticides that threaten you.

© 2017, jone rush macculloch
Photo by Christy Peterson

Honeybees

Source: Benefits of Honey, National Geographic

 

This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, National Poetry Month, Natural World, Observations, Photography, Poetry Friday, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NaPoWriMo 04/14/2017, Poetry Friday: Ode to the Honey Bee

  1. I love the bee poem. They are such fascinating creatures, and I do worry about them in this mess we’ve created.

  2. lindabaie says:

    I know that bees are at grave risk, wish that there was more being done to protect against pesticides. Rachel Carson lived so long ago. How can we forget? Love the poem, Jone, caring and poignant.

  3. I love writing about bees. I do it rather too much. 🙂 Here is one: https://friendlyfairytales.com/2015/07/19/bee-magic/

  4. maryleehahn says:

    Did you see this zinger of a poem on Poets.org? It wonders the same thing in a different way.
    https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/letter-someone-living-fifty-years-now

  5. I’m back with a Bee reverso. Thanks for inspiring my one new poem today!

    Honey Bee

    Yellow adorned
    Buzzing barnstormer
    Black spiked
    Bloom inspector
    Serious sommelier
    of nectar
    Royal emissary
    to Queen
    for hive wellbeing

    for hive wellbeing
    to Queen
    Royal emissary
    of nectar
    Serious Sommelier
    Bloom inspector
    Black spiked
    Buzzing Barnstormer
    Yellow adorned

    Honey Bee
    (c) Linda Mitchell

  6. Jone, I’m going to comment quick before zipping off to write a bee poem. I love these photographs and your collaboration! I agree with Carol that pantaloons is a super word choice for this poem….and sipping green tea with honey from the hive is delicious! Thank you for such a golden invitation!

  7. cvarsalona says:

    Jone, how wonderful that you left the reader with this line: “as your golden striped pantaloons”. This is a great way to introduce vocabulary that may not be familiar to others. I can say that I own a pair of pantaloons from 1905ish era. You honeybee is a busy, buzzing one, as it should be but your poem led to an an ecological thought. I like this poem for its sensory details and environmental concern.

Comments are closed.