Poetry Friday: Happy National Mac ‘N Cheese Day

poetryfriday

Thanks to Tabatha at The Opposite of Indifference  for not only hosting Poetry Friday today but also suggestion poetry around National Mac n’ Cheese Day.

Now growing up, my mother’s Mac ‘n Cheese didn’t resemble the ooey-gooeyness of today’s gourmet dishes. Every Christmas Eve, we’d have mac ‘n cheese:  Elbow macaroni noodles, butter, milk, and chunks of cheddar cheese. Note:  There weren’t any measurements; a little of this and a little of that. This was baked until there was a semi-brown crust and it was sort of solidified.  Not my favorite rendition of the beloved mac n’ cheese. (I did, however, love the brown crunchy part of the crust)  In fact, Mom made it for her two oldest grandkids and they were sad that it didn’t come from that wonderful blue box.

So last week, while on my road trip, I misread the email and thought the Mac n’ Cheese week was last week.  I quickly wrote this silly rhyme as it popped into my mind.

Mac n’ cheese
Yes, please

Mac n cheese
Don’t make me sneeze

Mac n cheese
Yes, please

Mac n cheese
Making it, a breeze

Mac n cheese
Yes, please

Mac n cheese
Keeps away the fleas

Mac n cheese
Yes, please

©jone rush maculloch, 2017

So tonight I revised it a bit, more like a chant.

Mac n’ cheese
Mac n’’ cheese
Yes, please

Mac n’ cheese
Mac n’ cheese
Don’t make me sneeze

Mac n’ cheese
Mac n’ cheese
Making it, such a breeze

Mac n’ cheese
Mac n’ cheese
Keeps away the fleas

Mac n’ cheese
Mac n’ cheese
Yes, please

©jone rush maculloch, 2017

This entry was posted in Poetry Friday, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Poetry Friday: Happy National Mac ‘N Cheese Day

  1. I’m all for anything that would keep fleas away, bring it on! I think kids would love your rousing poem too, thanks.

  2. cvarsalona says:

    Let’s see if this comment links up: as I twitted, version 2 is a great chant for children.

  3. Donna Smith says:

    We had the same recipe (none)…except Ritz Crackers on top before baking. Still love it best that way. So, does it REALLY keep fleas away? That would be handy!

  4. carwilc says:

    I know kids would love to chant this!!! All this mac and cheese talk is making me hungry!

  5. I’m glad my daughter is grown up (at least mostly). She would have loved chanting this for one of her favorite dishes.

  6. Great chant, Jone! I enjoyed hearing about your mac-n-cheese tradition.

  7. Yes, this would go over well as a chant for kids, yes please!

  8. I cook a lot like your mom… ;0) Fun cheesy chant – thanks for sharing!
    Happy Mac & Cheese Day & Happy Summer.

  9. This would be a fun one to chant with your students!

    Your mother’s mac n cheese recipe sounds exactly like my mother-in-law’s. Lots of cheddar.

  10. Tara Smith says:

    Both versions have that Mac and Chees-y zip, Jone.

  11. maryleehahn says:

    What is it about the blue box mac and cheese?!?! (It does go well with hot dogs, I have to admit…)

  12. Us too! One year, my cousin told Grandma he wanted hotdogs for Christmas dinner…..we had hotdogs & mac & cheese ever after. LOL. I love the cheesy memories. Fun stuff.

  13. Tabatha says:

    It sounds like your mom’s experience with her grandkids was like my grandparents’ with me, wanting the blue box kind. Interesting that it was a Christmas Eve tradition! Thanks for sharing both versions of your poem.

  14. We are fond of Annie’s in our house. We had some amazing Mac n cheese in Sturbridge, MA, though. Yum!

Comments are closed.