Poetry Friday: From Violet Nesdoly

poetryfriday

Thanks to Margaret at Reflections on the Teche for hosting this week.  I am trying to get all the blog posts read and commented on each week.

Poetry PSA 1:  I am trying to get all the blog posts read and commented on each week.  I feel bad that it doesn’t always happen.  I hope you understand that it’s my time management and I always have the best intentions to comment.

Poetry PSA 2:  Get ready to apply.  The CYBILS will open applications to serve on committees around August 21-September 11.  Poetry is always looking for a lively conversation about terrific poetry books.  If you are interested, be on the look out.  You are not able to serve on Poetry if you have a poem in an eligible anthology or if you have a poetry book eligible for nomination.

My first poetry swap was from Violet Nesdoly. We met briefly at Poetry Camp last fall. (Can’t believe it’s almost a year).
lifetime love
of nature and words
fall harvest
reading to friends new and old
poetry camp fun

©violet nesdoly

It was very special because June was a difficult month.  This book from Violet lifted my spirits.  I contacted her to say thanks and she shared that several poems were based on what she’d learned from my blog. I had chills. Sharing poetry during the summer is the best. The end of the book has blank pages and I have been putting my summer poetry swap poems there.

20170810_184652

20170810_184603.jpg

crocuses
open and eager
like children
encouragement is warm sun
to new springtime buds

©violet nesdoly

20170810_184734.jpg

pink ladies
a family line
grandchildren
following in grandma’s steps
lovely legacy

©violet nesdoly

My response:

a writer
notices others
word flowers
poetic observations
in the fields

©jone rush macculloch

This entry was posted in CYBILS, Haiku, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Poetry Friday: From Violet Nesdoly

  1. Thanks for sharing all these moving poems by Violet, these lines are timely for the season we are moving too quickly into,
    “fall harvest
    reading to friends new and old”
    Thanks for the heads up about the PSA notices! On to more reading of poetry …

  2. Thanks for the PSAs. I struggle too (look, it’s Monday!). I look forward to another chance to CYBIL this year! I love how you and Violet connected and inspired each other!

  3. cvarsalona says:

    Jone, PF comes with great intentions on our part but yes, it is difficult to make the rounds. Violet’s swap to you is filled with wonderful poems. I especially
    Like the one she wrote on the pink ladies. I know you had a wonderful holiday with your grand girls. Your response poem was a great way to end a conversation via poetry.

  4. Tabatha says:

    Violet’s swap arrived at the perfect time, didn’t it? Beautiful. “Lovely legacy” is right, and “sun spun” is delicious. Hugs to you.

  5. I adore the comparison of children and flowers – both can blossom and bloom with care and attention, and can be both fragile and incredible.

  6. Hi Jone,
    I’m interested in applying to read for cybills. Thanks for the PSAT!

  7. haitiruth says:

    Such a lovely swap! Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

  8. Donna Smith says:

    Thanks for sharing all these today. The swap has such a richness to it – like gooey chocolate cake…only better for you!

  9. Jone, I love your custom of writing a poem answer to the swap poems. This one is pretty special. Thank you! I hope you get all your CYBILS judges lined up. Your life sounds busy and rich.

  10. You are not alone! I try to read and comment on all the poetry each week, but I sometimes fall short. Lovely blooms of words and images here. I love that your gift from Violet included a book to collect them in.

  11. I try to comment on all, too, but life happens. Doesn’t it? And then we make poetry out of it! 🙂 Lovely gifts you received from your fellow camper. Thanks for indulging us in this late summer goodness.

  12. lindabaie says:

    What wonderful gifts to brighten your life, Jone. I’m sorry for your difficult June, and then loved seeing about your trip which I hope made things better. The poems from Violet and then your response are special.

  13. Irene Latham says:

    Jone, thank you for your PSAs. I have loved and learned so much from serving on CYBILS in the past. And I am sorry you had a difficult June… thinking of you! These “word flowers” from Violet do brighten the day, don’t they? Thank you! xo
    p.s. per your request, you are welcome to use with students the POETRY acrostic graphic I posted a few weeks ago!

  14. mbhmaine says:

    I’m always delighted to read about the shared poems in the Poetry Swap. Each seems to set off sparks that land on tinder to blaze into new poems. Lovely and inspiring!

  15. Such great synergy here. I also try to always read and comment, but it sure isn’t easy.

Comments are closed.