Get Ready to Raise Money for Bridget

If you attended the Kidlit Blogging Conference in Portland, OR last September, you may have met Bridget Zinn.  She is a YA public librarian and YA writer. Lots of energy and sweetness.

Cancer always seems to find those with lots of energy and sweetness. Cancer found Bridget. She discovered this the beginning of March when the ocular migraines limited her sight.

The treatment is aggressive and expensive.  The Portland Kidlit group plans to hold a couple of fundraisers for Bridget. 

The first is an on-line auction going live on May 1 through May 29.  While the list is not finalized we have some exciting items to start: Andi at Cloudscome  has donated a handmade baby quilt, Nancy Arruda at BeesKnees Reads Books is in with a newly published book by her company, and April Henry has donated first editions of her books as well as a 20 page critique of either a mystery or YA script.

The second is a silent auction and raffle on May 29 at the Lucky Lab Pub in SE Portland.  We are beginning to get some great auction and raffle items. These include a facial by Jane Cowan, esthetician extraordinaire, five hours of landscaping by Lisa Nowak, a chance for author appearances by Matt Holm, co-creator of Baby Mouse and Emily Whitman, author of Radiant Darkness.

I am working to have three book baskets for auction: a children’s picture book baskets, a middle grade basket,and a YA basket.

Stay tuned for more information. If you would like to contribute, please contact me.

This entry was posted in Fundraiser, Kidlitosphere and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Get Ready to Raise Money for Bridget

  1. Ethel Rohan says:

    Can you please contact me directly regarding helping Brigdet. Thanks.

  2. Pingback: Auctions, an ambassador, & edited muppets. « Wagging Tales

  3. cloudscome says:

    I posted about the auction with photos of my donated quilt here at Sandy Cove Trail.

  4. Ellen Emerson White says:

    I’d be happy to help out, if I can.

  5. Jenni Holm says:

    I’d like to donate some autographed books and also the chance to have a character named (might be first name only) after you in a future book of mine.

  6. Yay I am so glad you are getting this going! I have been praying for Bridget and I am happy to be part of the fund raising. I will have photos of the quilt and can send them to you for the auction. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do!

    -cloudscome

  7. shelli says:

    I will donate designing a piece of marketing collateral – biz cards, post card or bookmarker. I am a marketing consultant by day, and writer by night. I also follow brigdet’s blog and FB page. You can email me at sjohannes@bilaninc.com

  8. Dawn says:

    Is there a place where we can make direct monetary donations for Bridget?

Comments are closed.