NaPoWriMo Day18: Poetry Friday

20140417-210601.jpg

20140417-210611.jpg
Thank you to Robyn for hosting Poetry Friday Round-up.

A tritina:
The afternoon quiet interrupted by rain
as I sat with a book by the window
and watched the pinking of dogwood

Remembered when dad planted the dogwood
The red morning brought afternoon rain
I pressed my nose to the window

Plip plops, drip drops pounded the window
The wrens hunkered down in the dogwood
The afternoon quiet interrupted by rain.

Look out the window, enjoy the the dogwood and the rain.

How to write a tritina:
1 2 3 – End words of lines in first tercet.
3 1 2 – End words of lines in second tercet.
2 3 1 – End words of lines in third tercet.
(1 2 3) – Words contained in the final line.

This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Poetry, Poetry Friday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to NaPoWriMo Day18: Poetry Friday

  1. maryleehahn says:

    A fun form to try, and a mentor poem to place beside mine to guide me through it! Thanks!

  2. Your poem is spring in 10 lines. And another form to try – thanks so much!

  3. Myra GB says:

    I love this one. I had the same exact experience yesterday with the rain and my books with me. šŸ™‚ Always such a beautiful experience – you captured it here.

  4. haitiruth says:

    Lovely! I love dogwood so much.

  5. Hi, Jone – I’m with Amy – the “pinking of dogwood” made me swoon. :0)

  6. Linda Baie says:

    You make me want some of your rain, Jone. I love this pattern and you’re including so many images by its simple structure.

  7. Tara Smith says:

    Love that second stanza, Jone, such a tender memory there.

  8. bjleepoet says:

    oh boy, a new form (at least for me)! and what a wonderful job you did! I enjoyed the window, the dogwood, and the rain!

  9. Oh, good–a new form to try! I love the image of “wrens hunkered down in the dogwood.”

  10. Thanks for introducing me to a new form (and a new verb–pinking! I can see that in my mind. Dogwoods in full bloom here, but mostly white.) Thanks for sharing this lovely spring poem.

  11. margaretsmn says:

    Ah, the onomatopoeia and the silence of the afternoon! Love your use of this intriguing form. Spring is a perfect time to write. Looking forward to getting your book soon. I was the winner for SOLC.

  12. This. Is. Beautiful! Just so lovely. I will think of it when we next have rain. (Tonight!) I am sighing over “the pinking of dogwood.”

    • macrush53 says:

      Thanks. The pinking of the dogwood is happening outside my bedroom and the rain…my inspiration.

Comments are closed.