SOLSC: Shirley, My Friend

20131104-211554.jpg
My friend, Shirley, passed in peace from this world on Sunday, December 1. She is now relieved of the gioblastoma which caused her pain and loss of words. The last time I visited her, she was sleeping in a peaceful way and looked beautiful.

I have been asked to speak at her service. So today I am pre-writing in preparation. It’s a big honor. I want to do Shirley proud.

Shirley was a mentor.
She encouraged me to keep writing.
Shirley began the after school drama club. The club grew and she asked me to help co-direct.
It was okay that I knew nothing about the theater except for an accidental role in The Best Christmas Pageant Ever.
I am a perfectionist and Shirley taught me how to let go.
Shirley would always say, “There are no small parts only small actors.”
She also said, “How you practice is how you perform.”
Shirley was one of my mentors.
She encouraged me to keep writing.
Shirley began the after school drama club. The club grew and she asked me to help co-direct.
It was okay that I knew nothing about the theater except for an accidental role in The Best Christmas Pageant Ever.
I am a perfectionist and Shirley taught me how to let go.
Shirley would always say, “There are no small parts only small actors.”
She also said, “How you practice is how you perform.”
There would always be at least one play practice in which we would throw up our hands and laugh hysterically.
Shirley encouraged me to write school plays from traditional tales like Aesop and Anansi.
Shirley had the best stories about her brother, Freddy.
Shirley showed me how to live in grace.
Shirley knew how to be present for those during their peak times and their valley times.
She was always there for me.
Shirley always had time to listen.
Shirley disciplined through loving kindness.
Shirley often came out her classroom door to tell be about my aura for the day.
Shirley did a feng shui consultation for my daughter when she was in college. Her bedroom was changed around and my daughter’s testing fear eased.
Shirley encouraged my photography.
Shirley was the first person who listened to my novel draft.
Shirley opened her classroom so I could read or teach random poetry lessons.
Shirley was mistaken as my mom once. (She was only five years older than me). We laughed. From then on, she would give me mom moments.
Shirley had love for all who crossed her path.

There are more slices at Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in school, Slice of Life Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SOLSC: Shirley, My Friend

  1. Jone says:

    Thank you all. I have been organizing a power point for the service on Saturday.

  2. Linda Baie says:

    Whatever you say about your friend will be so appreciated, Jone. Those who spoke about my husband are dear to me because they brought pieces of him to light that I could not, as you will for your friend’s family, and about your dear friend. It’s beautifully written with lots of love!

  3. This is so heart breakingly beautiful. Losing someone you love is so very hard. It causes a hole in your life that never can be filled. Someone told me once, and it is is true, you will smile again but never in the same way. Hoping the memories of your friendship will soon bring smiles in place of tears.

  4. Janet F. says:

    Oh, Jone. This is so beautiful. How lucky you were to know Shirley and I think I missed out on someone I would have loved and enjoyed. Such a blessing to have all those fabulous memories and a bond that will never end. I am glad she is no longer suffering from her physical illness. Her spirit lives on in you and all those whose lives she touched in such an amazing and giving way. Disciplining with kindness. I love that. It never fails. I am sure you brought much joy to Shirley’s life, too. I have a poem I will send you. You may know it, but I think it helps in these kinds of times.

Comments are closed.