SOLSC 2013: Looking Back

20131231-174659.jpg

Thanks to the ensemble at Two Writing Teachers for providing a place to share a Slice of Life Challenge.

And WordPress sends out a year in review which is pretty cool.
Looking back on this year, I had over sixty blog posts for SOLSC. January and June were the only months I didn’t post for SOLSC. In fact June was a lost month although I did blog at Check It Out in June. I wrote everyday but one in March for the monthly challenge.

It’s great to be in a community of writers. It’s become a priority to write this blog post each week and I am disappointed when it doesn’t happen. I love going to other blogs to read and they serve as sparks for future posts as well as connecting with other writers.

Besides blogging, I am happy with what I accomplished on my novel this year. I met with my writing critique group almost every month and checked in with my online group twice a month.

I was able to attend two writing retreats. One at Highlights Foundation in Pennsylvania and the other closer to home: Silver Falls Retreat Center. Both retreats provided amazing teachers.

I took on the position of books sales for SCBWI-Oregon. We sold books at the spring conference, retreat, and an art opening for local illustrators at the beautiful downtown Portland library.

And I was published in Acorn, a Contemporary Haiku Journal.

My word for 2013 was mindful. It was a good word for me especially in writing. I haven’t found my word for 2014.

2013 was a year where I grew as a writer and I am looking forward to what’s in store for me in 2014.

Happy New Year.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to SOLSC 2013: Looking Back

  1. Librarian at the Lake says:

    Congratulations on being published! This weekly SOL has also given me a boost, sort of a mini-deadline of which I’m more apt to work toward.
    Happy writing in 2014!

  2. Congrats on being published! Hope 2014 is as fruitful as 2013 was for you!

  3. Tara Smith says:

    You’ve had an amazing year, Jone – so much to celebrate and take pride in. Here’s to more of the same in the new year! PS. That WordPress report was interesting (I read ours for TWT), I’m glad I made the switch to WordPress on my blog.

  4. You have much to celebrate. Good for you! And here’s to a great 2014.

  5. blkdrama says:

    2013 seems like it was a wonderful year for you the writer. Very Impressive and more to come with community support of course in 2014.
    Happy New Year!

  6. Carol says:

    Sounds like a terrific writing year! Can’t wait to read your novel and blog about it!

  7. Linda Baie says:

    It seems like a very good year in your writing, Jone. Congratulations on your publishing and your continuing progress of your novel-exciting! Happy New Year!

  8. What a wonderful writing year! You accomplished some exciting things. Congratulations and on to new discoveries.

  9. jarhartz says:

    Wonderful accomplishments and a wonderful place to share. Happy 2014!

Comments are closed.