SOLSC Day 3: Sunday Afternoon

20140302-195043.jpg

Rainy Sunday afternoon. I gather with ten others for a little master class in creating setting by Susan Blackaby. We sit around a wooden table with notebooks and favorite pens.

Prompts are given. For the first prompt, I draw a map of the neighborhood for my story. I am wishing I had a pencil instead of a favorite pen. But I draw the map and discover there are things missing in my manuscript.

In another prompt, the objective is to have people around a table, one talking, one eating and one leaving the room. In this exercise, I find out that Darrah is not happy with asparagus and her father uses the spear as a pointer. I didn’t know these things about my characters until today.

It’s revealed to me that Darrah keeps a smooth stone with her always. It’s a skipping stone from the river. Funny how writing about setting brings unlocks treasures.

It’s still raining when I leave. Rainy afternoons are made for master class with a fantastic writing teacher and other writer friends.

More slices can be found at Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SOLSC Day 3: Sunday Afternoon

  1. Tara Smith says:

    The idea of a writing group on a rainy day sounds like heaven to me, Jone!

  2. What great promps to pull amazing things from you. Great way to spend a Sunday afternoon of rain!

  3. Stella says:

    This is what I call an ideal afternoon. Can’t think of a better way. And the rain was a great bonus. 🙂

  4. Oh, how I envy your Sunday afternoon! Thank you for sharing!

  5. Carol says:

    Jone- This really does sound like a terrific way to spend a Sunday afternoon…

Comments are closed.