SOLSC Day 10: The View From My Desk

20140309-212711.jpgEvery day for thirty-one days I ‘ll share a slice and read others at Two Writing Writers

20140309-213137.jpg
When I sit at my desk in my writing desk, this is my view. The items in that area have all special meaning. The bureau was made by my great-grandfather from scrap wood. He created a faux wood finish. It’s over a hundred years old.

I collect owls. A friend gave me the silver owl and the owl light that once belonged to her mom. She also made the stuffed owl which is sitting on a chair my great-grandfather made for my grandmother when she was a child.
The print of the girl reading under a tree is a Johanna Wright print. She created it after our friend Bridget Zinn died from colon cancer in her early thirties. The other two prints were again from my friend’s mom’s house. Tranquility is what I feel when I am in that room.
The other quote is from Buddha.

I love being in my writing room. There’s light and peace.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SOLSC Day 10: The View From My Desk

  1. mgminer says:

    It’s my dream to have a writing/reading room. Now I always have to share the space with TV watchers. I’m learning to write in the midst of distraction – it’s not ideal, but it’s better than not writing!!

    • macrush53 says:

      Oh’ I know that feeling of learning to write in the midst of distraction. I hope you get your writing/reading room.

  2. Tara Smith says:

    That is some wonderful view – you are surrounded by inspiration!

  3. macrush53 says:

    Elsie, My writing room is one of my favorite paces in my home.

  4. elsie says:

    You are surrounded by things that are meaningful to your life, how could you not be inspired to write? Right?

Comments are closed.