SOLSC Day 20: March Madness Poetry Craziness

20140318-213126.jpg

Thirty-one days of writing, reading, and sharing at Two Writing Teachers.

This will be a quick slice as I return to sub again in kindergarten this afternoon. (The substitute situation is really sad.)

I stayed up way too late like 12:30 AM to finish my poem for the March Madness Poetry (MMP2014) at Think Kid Think! It was due at 7:00 AM my time.

First, I procrastinated (perhaps a tad bit too long). I made lists of rhyming word for the word DRAG (my word).

Second, I tunes into Pandora Radio with the hits of the 60’s, 70’s, and 80’s.

I figured out a rhyming scheme. BTW way, Ken Nesbitt, Children’s Poet Laureate, has terrific resources at his website.

I write more free verse so rhyming scenes challenge me.  This event helps me learn more about writing in structured verse.

20140320_002145

Several drafts later, I finalized the poem. And went to bed.  Of course, this morning, I wished I had time to revise and tinker some more.

When the poem posts and the voting begins, I will let you know.  Maybe you will like a silly poem about a squirrel.

This entry was posted in SOLSC2014 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOLSC Day 20: March Madness Poetry Craziness

  1. Linda Baie says:

    The polling is up, Jone. Your poem is funny! Squirrel antics around here are going strong-spring time I think! Good for you for getting it done!

  2. Tara Smith says:

    I would LOVE to read a silly poem about a squirrel!!

Comments are closed.