National Poetry Month: The “LL” Challenge: Flotilla

IMG_1540

Today’s word: FLOTILLA

Definition: a fleet of ships, from the Spanish: flota or French: flotte.

Maggia_fg26Water striders consuming a honey bee.

flotilla
of water striders
on the pond
honey bee’s
demise, part of the food chain
though sadness fills me

© 2015 Jone Rush MacCulloch all rights reserved

Sadness is the word at Mary Lee’s Po-Emotions challenge.

This entry was posted in Double LL Challenge, NaPoWriMo, National Poetry Month, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to National Poetry Month: The “LL” Challenge: Flotilla

  1. maryleehahn says:

    That picture is quite arresting! It’s one thing for there to be predator/prey, but that seems like a ganging up!

    My flotilla is here: http://www.maryleehahn.com/2015/04/po-emotion-sadness.html

  2. Amy Baskin says:

    You captured that image perfectly. love the use of ‘flotilla’ and the existential sadness coupled with the bright sunlight of the picture.

  3. Kay Mcgriff says:

    Reading your poem reminded me of how torn I felt when I watched nature documentaries as a kid. Do I cheer for the prey and home they live another day or cheer for the predator who needs to kill to eat and survive?

  4. DEFENSE
    Flotillas of football players
    Charged into our school cafeteria
    To provide a walled off sanctuary for me,
    Each one verbally confronted packs of classmates
    Who physically questioned my proud sexuality?

    (c) Charles Waters 2015 all rights reserved.

Comments are closed.