National Poetry Month: The “LL” Challenge: Lollygag

IMG_1540

Today’s word: LOLLYGAG 

Definition: to spend time doing things that are not useful or serious : to fool around and waste time.

This is the final day of spring break.  It’s been a fabulous week in that I worked a lot on our house.  I also wrote a lot.  Lollygagging is something I don’t do much.  So today, I will take a moment to lollygag and enjoy this final Spring Break day because I have an aversion to work.  Thanks, MaryLee, for the form today.

lollygag on Clackamas River
On the Clackamas River.

Last
day of
vacation
Sunshine warm us
We picnic with dog
along the riverbank
school work aversion
Lollygaggers
slowing time
one more
day

© 2015 Jone Rush MacCulloch all rights reserved

This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, National Poetry Month, Original Poem, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to National Poetry Month: The “LL” Challenge: Lollygag

  1. cvarsalona says:

    Lollygaging-a wonderful pasttime for dreamers! This is such an uplifting post, Jone.

  2. Great word–and just the word I happen to need for something I was revising. Thank you! Love the idea of slowing time.

  3. RESPECT
    Lollygagging on this last day
    Of summer vacation,
    Laying on natures once spiked hair,
    Matting it down for my pleasure,
    Gazing at clouds drifting past each other
    Nodding in wordless communication,
    Astonished at how that simple gesture
    Mirrors my relationship with family;
    Everything being said without anything
    Being uttered at all.

    (c) Charles Waters 2015 all rights reserved.

  4. Carol says:

    Lollygagging sounds like a perfect way to spend the last day of spring break! I love this snapshot!

  5. Linda Baie says:

    I did a bit of lollygagging last week on my break, now back to work, work, work. Sorry I’ve missed most of your posts-just wish I could spend lots of time reading, reading everyone’s poems. The poem & picture are so enticing!

  6. Lollygag is one of my favorite words. So I had to read your post. It made me yearned for my Spring Break a month ago.
    Have a great Monday!!!

Comments are closed.