SOL16 Day 8 of 31: Revisiting “Preach”

IMG_0785Everyone has a story and you can catch up on more slices for the  SOLSC at
Two Writing Teachers.

Last year Heidi at My Juicy Little  Universe challenged us with words that had “CH” in them.  “Preach”  was the word for March 9th.

I wrote:

In Selma
thousands marched
in hopes of freedom
and equality.
Thousands march
still and
preach themes
of freedom and equality
only the choir
seems to hear.

© 2015 Jone Rush MacCulloch all rights reserved

In this year, I cannot believe that the tone of our nation has gone from bad to worse.  In politics today, frightening tenets are being shared that will continue to weaken the themes of freedom and equality.

I am distressed by the lack of manners, the lack of kindness toward others, and how it seems okay to insult people with degrading comments.  As a teacher, how do I explain the actions of those running for office?

I want a leader who will lead by example and by kindness.  I want the political circus to be over (is it November yet?)

I hope the lessons of Selma won’t be lost but some days I wonder.

 

 

This entry was posted in SOL16, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SOL16 Day 8 of 31: Revisiting “Preach”

  1. Pingback: SOL16 Day 20 of 31: Playing Editor | Jone Rush MacCulloch

  2. I feel exactly the same way. Our third graders at school are constantly talking about how racist Trump is. One even wrote a persuasive speech about it. It is sad, the state of the nation in terms of political leaders. Very scary as well.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    I am trying not to get too depressed…yet. But it’s a horror show out there, sadly.

  4. Wendy says:

    I was schooled by a seventh grader recently. One boy pulled up images on his laptop of Trump’s hair, with various amusing captions. His classmate, a Mexican immigrant said, “I really don’t like him or agree with what he says, but it’s still not really okay to make fun of him for what he looks like.” After hearing her wisdom, I have stopped sharing things that mock the candidates (but I am still sharing information about them!).

  5. We are witnessing frightening times. I am more scared of leaving this for my children to have to deal with. I wish those in “the show” could read your poem and truly reflect on your words.

Comments are closed.