SOL16: The Holidays,#haikuforhealing/6, & Poetry Postcard Exchange

IMG_0785

Two Writing Teachers always have a space for us each Tuesday to share a slice and I am grateful.

Thanksgiving was a delight as my husband and I were surrounded by our daughters, grand girls, and their other grandmother.  Eight of us for dinner.  Three cousins having a wild rumpus. The house decorated in a festive way.

I struggle with the holidays. My childhood usually had grandmothers and aunts visiting or us traveling to see the great aunt and uncle.  We were surrounded with families.  But today, the holidays are complicated by blended families and grandgirls with their fathers so planning ahead is challenging.

I don’t do well with unstructured time.  I know this and had a conversation with my therapist who reminded me that this is a common theme for this time of year.  We discussed ways to make the holidays what I want it to be.

It surprises me a bit as I can be quite content by myself with the never ending stash of magical art projects and writing and yet, this time of year, I miss those people who are no longer with us.  I miss the noise of the holidays.

So this weekend my husband and I made some plans for the winter break. We are going to the coast for a couple of days before Christmas.  I love the ocean so this is a perfect way to spend the holiday.

#haikuforhealing/6

I found this line and am borrowing from Diane at Random Noodling:

Christmas past
always in the background
new traditions start

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

NEW YEAR POSTCARD EXCHANGE

Would you like to ring in the new year with a postcard?  Read this post for details and fill out this form

This entry was posted in Haiku, SOL16, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SOL16: The Holidays,#haikuforhealing/6, & Poetry Postcard Exchange

  1. I’m gonna do the postcard thing !

  2. That should be great !

  3. mgminer says:

    You are not alone in your holiday struggles and difficulty with unstructured time. I hope you enjoy your time at the beach. Savor the healing sounds, smells, and fresh air!

  4. carwilc says:

    I agree with Tara and Linda! It sounds like you are putting together a whole new tradition! Good for you!

  5. lindabaie says:

    I always love seeing your pictures from the coast. It sounds like a good plan. I grew up with huge family gatherings too, so know what you mean about missing those special times. Now, so far, it’s the eight of us & so far we are managing to be together several times a year. My son & family are in Texas now. We’re lucky they can come back so often. Thanks for sharing your lovely haiku. It says much to me for sure.

  6. Tara Smith says:

    It sounds like a lovely new tradition, Jone – enjoy!

Comments are closed.