SOL: My OLW for 2017

IMG_0785

Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for providing a place to share our weekly SOLs.

Well, this month hasn’t gone as planned.  No review of my 2016 OLW: FOCUS (guess I wasn’t focused) and I feel behind in writing about 2017’s OLW.

It is HOPE.

At one time, I thought it would be kindness or something around kind.  But this fall, I started saying, “Live in hope and die in despair”, a phrase a colleague shared with me.

After the election, I knew that HOPE would be my OLW.

Without it, I would probably try to spend the next four years in bed.
Without hope, I wouldn’t have marched on Saturday.
Without it, I couldn’t write haiku for #haikuforhealing
Without hope, I would be disconnected.

HOPE QUOTES

We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Hope is like the sun, which, as we journey toward it, casts the shadow of our burden behind us. Samuel Smiles

Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope. Maya Angelou

I find hope in the darkest of days, and focus in the brightest. I do not judge the universe. Dalai Lama

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

each morning
the sun behind clouds
I choose hope

This entry was posted in Haiku, SOL17, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SOL: My OLW for 2017

  1. Perfect OLW, Jone. By coincidence, just yesterday I finished drafting my PF post for this week and in it, I ask folks to write a 3-line poem about HOPE. May I include yours in my post? (Crediting you, of course!)

  2. morencyclr@aol.com says:

    What a beautiful post! Very inspiring…

  3. lindabaie says:

    It’s a wonderful post for me this morning as I start another day watching and reading, Jone. I think of all those who have gone before us fighting injustice, and I do have hope!

  4. And hope is hard to have at times. Here’s to having and keeping it!

  5. Those are great quotes and hope is an excellent word!

  6. Ramona says:

    Love this slice! I especially like the Dalai Lama quote that includes both this year’s and last year’s OLW. Keep choosing hope!

Comments are closed.