Poetry Friday: Day 1 and 2 of February Prompts

poetryfriday

Thanks to Donna at Mainely Write for hosting today.

It’s February and the start of about three months of daily posting opportunities. This month it’s National Haiku Writing Month and Laura Shovan’s Poetry Challenge. Next month it’s the daily Slice of Life and April is National Poetry Month.

Laura’s challenge theme is Ekphrastic At-home. Ekphrastic is a literary comment on a visual or piece of art.  The art that participants are responding to is owned b the contributors.  I plan to respond with haiku for #NaHaiWriMo.

First up, is a piece of art by Laura’s HS senior.

staring eyesilluminationsrainbow soul©jone rush macculloch1.png

Artwork: Unfinished self-portrait by Jay Shovan

Day 2 #NaHaiWriMo has a prompt of RAILROAD TIES.

railroad ties

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Poetry Friday: Day 1 and 2 of February Prompts

  1. I love your “rainbow soul,” Jone. Your “letters scattered on railroad ties” reminds me of walking in the backyard of Carl Sandburg’s early home in Galesburg, IL. The yard was filled with poems and words of his on a winding stone path.

  2. Tara Smith says:

    Oh, how wonderful to have your interpretation of Jay’s portrait to think about side by side with Catherine’s. Bravo!

  3. Jone, your haiku captures Jay’s painting perfectly. Kudos to you for doing the haiku challenge, too. I’m already behind on Laura’s prompts, so I’m pretty sure a second challenge is beyond me!

  4. I’m so glad to see your poems here as well as on the Facebook page. I try to read all the poems but they become a blur. I like how you capture so much feeling from the painting in just a few words.

  5. Wow, that face, and the colours, so striking!

  6. mbhmaine says:

    Those eyes got me too, Jone. Like Linda, I’m glad you shared this here, because I missed it on the Facebook feed.

  7. Jone, I’m having a hard time keeping up with commenting on the posts in the FB group. So, I especially appreciate being able to see your poem based on Jay Shovan’s painting here. I like how the sparse words describe and leave room for us to fall into the ideas of the painting. Beautifully done.

Comments are closed.