SOLSC18 17/31: Saturday Shadorma

JRM sol

Thank you to Two Writing Teachers for holding space for us to sharing our writing

every day in March.

The Shadorma is a Spanish style form of poetry with a 3-5-3-3-7-5 syllable pattern.

20180317_123847.jpg

shamrocks bloom
white leprechaun hats
wish makers
gold keepers
scanning the sky for magic
believe the rainbows

©jone rush macculloch

 

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SOLSC18 17/31: Saturday Shadorma

  1. vanessaw2007 says:

    I really love the last line in this poem. It brings it all together and inspires.

  2. Annie says:

    Lovely use of the pattern and now I know something about a leprechaun’s wardrobe now. The hat isn’t green afterall.

  3. carwilc says:

    This poem somehow feels light and airy and very fresh and springlike and hopeful to me. My favorite lines are “wish makers/gold keepers, I also love “believe the rainbows.” I don’t think I knew about this form either, but it seems like it would be fun to try. I tried golden shovel yesterday for the first time and those are HARD! Or at least I think it’s hard to write something meaningful and stay within the format!

  4. Natasha says:

    That is beautiful! I especially love “wish makers/gold keepers/scanning the sky for magic”. I also had never heard of shadormas. Thank you for sharing a new type of poetry to try!

  5. onathought says:

    Wonderful! I didn’t know about this poetry form. . . I’m going to have to try it!

Comments are closed.