SOLSC18 23/31: Poetry Friday

poetryfriday

Thanks to Laura at Writing the World for Kids for hosting Poetry Friday.

JRM sol
Thank you to Two Writing Teachers for holding space for us to sharing our writing every day in March.

In
a
few days
Poetry
Month begins. What shall
I write about? Ideas needed

Whoa.  Last year was all planned and this year isn’t.  Trying not to panic.
Here are some ideas:
Haiku/haiga everyday.
Go through photos and find new ones to write a poem about
Create a word bank.
Ask for words from friends.

Thoughts?  Anyone?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++

20180320_103704
2018 Student Poetry Postcards.  A terrific group.
Would you like one?  Sign up here:

 

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to SOLSC18 23/31: Poetry Friday

  1. I was thinking about doing a word toss from whoever would send words-but I may write poems connected to a picture book story I’ve written, good luck with an idea Jone!

  2. Can’t wait to see what the verdict is. I love the idea of using April to create a word bank. I am going to try to continue one project that has branched into more. How does that even happen?

  3. Whatever you choose, Jone, I know it will be wonderful. I’m committed to finishing a project by May 1st, so I’m not planning an online project. Looking forward to hearing more about your plans!

  4. Kay Mcgriff says:

    You have several good ideas to choose from. I loved your haiku from the February poetry challenge. How about a haiku for your photos each day? I’ve got an idea I want to explore for April. I’m still deciding if I want to publish every day or just write many drafts for myself to work with later.

  5. bbutler627 says:

    I love the photo idea! I’m was partial to graphic poetry in my classroom using advertisements and images ripped from media. Made for some interesting stuff from the kids. Good luck!

  6. Elana Waugh says:

    I love this idea. I am excited to receive my postcard. I have a poet laureate from the area coming in during our writing marathon to do a poetry workshop with my students. We just finished figurative language poetry. The students look at a series of 30 pictures and create one sentence for the seven different types of figurative language we have learned about, They then arrange them in a poem and illustrate them. I am also planning on doing the I AM From poem along with doing some poetry immersion and having students take notice before creating their own poems. Just a few of my ideas.

  7. I’m in the exact same boat, Jone. Can’t believe I haven’t planned better. Life has certainly interfered in ways both happy and annoying lately! Ack, indeed!

  8. cvarsalona says:

    I am excited to have a seed of an ideas for April’s poetry writing. It will center around a new spring poetry gallery for sure but I don’t have a name yet. Place me on your list of poetry to do for my gallery and if you come up with a name please let me know, Jone. I would definitely credit you. What do you think about Color Me Spring as a generic title. I wanted to call the new gallery Poetryliscious Spring but I thought that might scare some people. ???

  9. lindabaie says:

    I hope you find an idea that feels very good, Jone. I have one idea, and maybe will go with it, still unsure, though.

  10. Cathy says:

    I’ve been wrestling with this too. The past two years I’ve participated, I’ve picked a theme or something to shape my writing, but I’ve found it constricting. This year, I’m just going to find the poems wherever they may be hiding. I’m taking the easy way out. Haha. Good luck in your writing and celebration.

  11. blkdrama says:

    What a wonderful way to spend April with your students. One April I wrote poems every day and LOVED it!

  12. I like the idea of one type. The threads created by that deep dive are admirable in our fellow slicers. Your student plan is terrific. Authentic audience, so important.

  13. mbhmaine says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to have so many choices? I’m still debating if I’m going to participate in a challenge. Three months in a row might be a little too much for me! But…poetry month is hard to resist! I also like your idea of creating a challenge for yourself. Maybe I’ll ask my students to give me a word a day…that could be interesting!

  14. I am not even close to ready for Poetry Month! I’m sort of stressing out if I’ll be able to keep up this round. Good luck to you!

  15. jehansen13 says:

    I’ve never done Poetry Month with students! What’s your favorite part?

  16. I like the idea of a haiku a day. They’re so challenging, yet so much fun to write.

Comments are closed.