SOL18: Been Awhile

JRM solI am thankful to Two Writing Teachers for creating a community to share writing. And they have joined Instagram. You can follow them @twowritingteachersblog or use the hashtag #TWTBlog.

I typically take the month of July off to vacation and not be on a schedule. Then August 1 rolls around and my head is gearing up for the beginning of the school year.

Not.This.Year.Retired. I’d be lying if I didn’t admit that it feels weird. I’ve had schoolmares. I am going to a rally tonight in support of my former colleagues as the bargain for what is right. I’ll wear #redfored.

20180814_0946445781517596033465323.jpg

This was a gift from my husband for graduating/retiring. (I found it and he ordered it. It came from HERE). It’s my OLW. And it’s so fitting. I’ve been seeking my place in the world this summer. Next week, I head to the coast to spend three days at a writing workshop.  Then on August 27th, hubs and I head out on a two week road trip to Utah and Arizona with friend stops on the way.

Everyone I talked to said that being away the first weeks of school is important.  I’m looking forward to what comes next.

 

 

This entry was posted in Observations, SOL18, Two Writing Teachers, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOL18: Been Awhile

  1. Congratulations on your retirement. Everyone I know who has retired loves it and not because they get to sleep in late, although they like that too, but because they get to stay busy but with the activities they enjoy doing. Some even go into consulting after retiring from the classroom. Enjoy your travels. It all sounds great, including your writing retreat and support of your fellow teachers.

  2. cvarsalona says:

    Jone, enjoy your travels. I plan on writing a blog with your beautiful poetry swap and #TheArtofSummering offerings. Did you know that I found a beehive in my patio pad container & when I realized it, I was chased and stung by 2? (beyondliteracylink.blogspot.com/2018/07/big-surprise-ouch.html) Your image poem is so much more soothing than my experience. Got to love nature!

Comments are closed.