NaWriPoMo19: Playing with Poetry 4/30 The Progressive Poem

What a better way to play with poetry than to be a participant in Irene Latham’s Annual Progressive Poetry event.

Our poem is for children. And Matt started us off by using some lines from music (and there is a challenge to continued the found lines). Kat and Kimberly continued the found lines.
Both days one and two are from the soundtrack of my preteen and teen years.
It prompted me to look up lyrics from other bands of my youth, in particular The Doors and Led Zeppelin (I had very eclectic music taste).
The Progressive Poem thus far…
Endless summer; I can see for miles…
Fun, fun, fun – and the whole world smiles
No time for school- just time to play
we swim the laughin’ sea each andDCwe every day
Found Lines
L1 The Who, ‘I Can See for Miles’ / The Beach Boys, ‘Endles Summer’
L2 The Beach Boys, ‘Fun, Fun, Fun’ / Dean Martin, ‘When You’re Smiling’
L3 The Jamies, ‘Summertime, Summertime’
L4 The Doors ‘Summer’s Almost Gone’/ Led Zeppelin ‘Good Times, Bad Times’

Linda at Teacher Dance will be swimming up soon for the next line.

This entry was posted in Progressive Poem, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to NaWriPoMo19: Playing with Poetry 4/30 The Progressive Poem

  1. Michelle Kogan says:

    Fun to have the water brought into this summer adventure…

  2. Ramona says:

    Such frolic in this poem already! Looking forward to following the fun all month long.

  3. cvarsalona says:

    That is a wonderful description of the ocean, Jone. I always watch the children frolic in the laughing waters because they are filled with giggles and smiles.

  4. Great line, Jone! “The laughing sea” packs a lot of imagery & emotion!

  5. Tabatha says:

    Super! Great picks.

  6. It’s fascinating to watch this develop. I’m day 14, so I’ll have to start gathering up some lyrical memories! — Christie

  7. margaretsmn says:

    Swim the laughin’ sea sends me into wistful hopes for summertime at the beach.

  8. Ah! I’m enjoying this summery, rhyming creation and lovin’ the laughin’ sea! Nice work!

  9. Linda KulpTrout says:

    Love playing with song lyrics. I can’t wait to see where this goes!

  10. Knew you’d nail it, Jone… well done! Wrapping up the first four lines with that laughing sea is just right. (But now I’m looking for fins? Or will we get to lollygag for a while on the nice, warm sand?)

  11. lindabaie says:

    Oh, Jone, this is my favorite place to be, that ‘laughing sea’. Now, what can I find? Thanks!

  12. katswhiskers says:

    And rhyme! Yay for building on the fun with activity – and laughter. Great find!

  13. Yay, we are swimmin’ now! Thank you, Jone. xo

  14. Love the action and the ‘laughing sea.’

  15. haitiruth says:

    I’m with Heidi – it’s good to have some action! Getting more and more nervous as my line approaches! Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

  16. Oooh, I like it that we have something to do , and the laughin’ sea is a good place to be! I think it’s cool that we can go back decades into music we loved to find lines for a spanking new generation of children who have never heard of Woodstock. : )

Comments are closed.