Poetry Friday: #poemsofpresence

Thanks to Mary Lee at A Year of Reading for hosting our community.

I have been watching way too much news this week. Mid-day today hubs and I finally made it to the Leach Botanical Garden for a needed peace break.

Away from the news, I saw this churning water and thought of all of those who’s lives are churning now. I thought of those parents who worry about their child coming home due to the color of their skin.

How can any of us breathe? And to think it hasn’t changed in four hundred years and it’s likely not to change anytime soon. How many more people of color must die to create change. I can’t breathe.,

This entry was posted in Haiku, Observations, Poetry Friday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poetry Friday: #poemsofpresence

  1. janicescully says:

    I, too, hear your words and agree, Jone. Your poem and picture are perfect, well paired for this moment.

  2. lindabaie says:

    I’m glad you shared your feelings of this tougher time, though it’s always tough for those of color & that we need to acknowledge. I’ve enjoyed your poems this month, too, Jone.

  3. maryleehahn says:

    It is the ultimate White Privilege to take a break from horrifying news. The churning water kept you present in the struggle and the need for change.

  4. Gail Aldous says:

    Jone, I hear your words and feelings and agree with them. Your poem is perfect! Love it! Thank you, for your emotional post. The botanical garden looks so peaceful & exciting! I enjoyed the pics & history.

Comments are closed.