Poetry Friday: Outside My Window

Tricia’s poetry stretch this week invited writers to write about “outside my window”.  Here is my response:

outside my window
the language of spring speaks
tulips dance in the breeze as
bee symphony plays a concerto

the language of spring speaks
poppy poems emerge from the soil
bee symphony plays a concerto
industrious blue jays build their nest

poppy poems emerge from the soil
daffodils bow heads in prayer
industrious blue jays build their nest
as dogwood buds burst onto the stage

daffodils bow heads in prayer
fiddle heads unfurl, frog croaks for its mate
as dogwood buds burst onto the stage
morning sun cascades through the trees

fiddle heads unfurl, frog croaks for its mate
tulips dance in the breeze as
morning sun cascades through the trees
outside my window

And because I like paring the pantuom with haiku:
fiddleheads unfurl
fronds-frog croaks for its mate
dogwood buds burst forth
language of spring
outside my window

This poem actually follow last week’s prompt at Sunday Scribbling as well.

Student poetry can be found at Check It OutLisa is rounding up the poetry today.

There is also some great poetry to be read at Read Write Poem

This entry was posted in Haiku, NaPoWriMo, Pantoums, Poetry Friday, Read Write Poem and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poetry Friday: Outside My Window

  1. annie says:

    I’ve always liked the word “fiddlehead”. I don’t think we have them in our area. Reading this and looking out MY window, I wonder if they could be coaxed to grow.

  2. Neverending story says:

    This almost danced completely off the screen. The form worked brilliantly. Loved it!!!

  3. Mary Lee says:

    You and your pantoums! LOVE IT!

  4. Beautiful! The form fits the mood perfectly. It builds and swirls with spring life. Thanks for sharing this.

Comments are closed.