SOLSC 2013: Day 26 of Day 31

Good evening slicers. If you notice on the page I have a countdown until I attend the Highlights Foundation “Where Story Meets Poetry: Writing the Poetry Novel” in April. Today received an email from them with information about the workshop. First there was a reading list. Yay! This is it:

MY BOOK OF LIFE BY ANGEL by Martinne Leavitt. This book will be discussed in a book discussion on Thursday night, so it is highly recommended to read it.)

STOP PRETENDING: WHAT HAPPENED WHEN MY BIG SISTER WENT CRAZY by Sonya Sones (This will also be used in book discussion Thursday night.)

OUT OF THE DUST by Karen Hesse

SHARK GIRL by Kelly Bingham

KEESHA’S HOUSE by Helen Frost

DIAMOND WILLOW by Helen Frost

MAKE LEMONADE by Virginia Eeuwer Wolff

So I have read Out of the Dust and Diamond Willow. I am about to start Shark Girl. I logged onto my public library to get a hold of the books, especially the first two since we will discuss them on Thursday night. I am psyched!

Oh, I also have send in the first ten pages of my manuscript. Check, that’s ready to go. I also have to write a synopsis…I have to write that this weekend for my critique group next week.

More on my manuscript later this next week.
More slices HERE.

This entry was posted in Books, Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOLSC 2013: Day 26 of Day 31

  1. I’ve also read Make Lemonade-loved it & recommended it a lot when I was in the classroom-middle school. Jone, I’m going to a Highlights poetry workshop in the fall. How exciting for you to do this. I hope you’ll tell more about it! I’m very excited, & see that you are too!

  2. Shelley K says:

    Wow! Looks like great reading! What an adventure…and so exciting! Best wishes!

Comments are closed.