Poetry Friday: Today

poetryfriday

Thanks to  Jama at Jama’s Alphabet Soup who’s hosting Poetry Friday.

You might think that after a month researching and preparing poems for Christy Peterson‘s photos, I might be glad for the breather. Turns out, I’m not as I wrote on Tuesday.

Yesterday I received a note from a person who received a student poetry postcard.  It included a poem “Today” by Deborah.  The class used the mentor text, TODAY, by Eileen Spinelli.

20170504_220934

I’m using Deborah’s poem to mentor me.  I am also starting with her ending line.

Today

Today I’m
going to find myself a poem.
I’m going respond to the morning call
of the red-winged blackbird
feeding at my feeder.

Today I’m
saying
good morning
to the pansy faces greeting
me as I leave for school.

Today I’m
hopscotching my way
through the day
even if storm clouds
gather.

Today I’m
watching the sunset,
waiting for the first
star in the twilight.
And I’ll wish for tomorrow.

©2017, jone rush macculloch

This entry was posted in Poetry, Poetry Friday, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Poetry Friday: Today

  1. Beautiful “Today” poem Jone! In the midsts of all the changes happening in our country,I appreciate hearing a sparkling light emerge from being caught up in nature, thanks!

  2. Alice Nine says:

    Love the trail of writing (and writers) that led to your beautiful poem. I love “Today I’m
    hopscotching my way / through the day / even if storm clouds / gather.” I read it literally and metaphorically and both ways I was inspired. May we all hopscotch through this week!

  3. Ramona says:

    Love this! I just looked at it on my computer and was able to read Deborah’s poem. I love her section: Today I’m going to gather all my heart can hold . . . I love the alliteration in your last stanza with watching, waiting, and wish.

  4. maryleehahn says:

    Love how this idea bounced from writer to writer!

  5. I needed this burst of positivity today, thank you!!

  6. And what a wonderful “today” you had. Bravo!

  7. Beautiful! Today I am enjoying listening to the splash of raindrops as they overflow the yard.

  8. jama says:

    Enjoyed your poem, Jone. Seems many us are in a celebratory spring mood this week.

  9. I like this attitude. I read a biography about Brooke Aster. In it she says she’s enjoyed every day. She simply decided to and made it true. As you do. It’s the best way to live.

  10. Pingback: Self-Portrait as Wildflower | Friendly Fairy Tales

  11. Hopscotching through the day…that’s a neat phrase! What a great poem!

Comments are closed.