Poetry Friday: February Poetry Challenge, Feb 22 and 23

poetryfriday
Thanks to Liz at Elizabeth Steinglass For hosting Poetry Friday today.

I really wanted my posts done yesterday. Instead, I came home from school, ate dinner, put on pajamas, and vegged on the couch.

It’s February and the start of about three months of daily posting opportunities. This month it’s National Haiku Writing Month and Laura Shovan’s Poetry Challenge. Next month it’s the daily Slice of Life and April is National Poetry Month.

Laura’s challenge theme is Ekphrastic At-home. Ekphrastic is a literary comment on a visual or piece of art. The art that participants are responding to is owned b the contributors. Responses will be in haiku for #NaHaiWriMo.

February 22: “Chinook, Hines Emerald Dragonfly, and Irises, endangered species,” WIP, © 2017 Michelle Kogan.

Copy of We travel not to escape life but for life not to escape us. (1)

I struggle with the news and the idea of teachers being asked to be armed.

February 23:  “Winter Geese” photo  and haiku by jone rush macculloch

Copy of Copy of Copy of Turquoise Margarita Day Trivia Facebook Post (1)

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Time to Sign-up for Student Postcards

 

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Poetry Friday: February Poetry Challenge, Feb 22 and 23

  1. Teachers should not have this responsibility. Politicians are abdicating their responsibility. We all need to stand up to the NRA and gun hobbyists before it gets worse.

  2. Kay Mcgriff says:

    I’ve enjoyed your haiku all month. One day I hope to be able to express as much with as much beauty in so few words. And yes, it has been a rough few weeks. I’m no longer teaching, but my stomach still turns at the thought of arming teachers. Not a line I could cross.

  3. Yes, to your haiku,
    “Lines we won’t cross
    refuse to carry”
    how appropriate for all that has spiraled out this last week and a half, great image too, thanks Jone!

  4. lindabaie says:

    Tough week, really the past year and more, I understand that sometimes the couch and nothing else calls. I love your geese track haiku-simply perfect! Have a lovely weekend!

  5. Tabatha says:

    That’s a lot of daily writing/posting opportunities! I didn’t realize that this is haiku month. Enjoyed yours, and I agree with Linda that vegetating can be a necessary and worthy way to spend your time.

  6. Oh, don’t I know the temptation to vegg on the couch…..but you know what? It’s important to do that too. We creatives use our brains so much and so hard that rest is vital. Your haiku are more than lovely….the are to the point and I love them.

  7. Liz Steinglass says:

    Hi Jone–thanks for sharing your haiku and your student postcards. I’ve been struggling with the news too.

Comments are closed.