Poetry Friday: Day 3 (Choose Your Own) Progressive Poem

Thanks to Heidi at my juicy little universe for hosting all the poetry goodness today

(Choose Your Own) Progressive Poem is Here!

Welcome to day 3 of this year’s Progressive Poem! So happy to be a part of this tradition during our time of sequester and uncertainty of COVID-19.
Margaret, thank you for getting us organized. Donna started us on a
Choose-Your-Own-Poem-Adventure Progressive poem by giving Irene two choices for the first line. Okay, I hope Day 30 gives Donna two choices to end the poem.

Irene selected:

Sweet violets shimmy, daffodils sway
and in turn gave me
as warm rain sprinkles my face
[or]
along the wiregrass path to the lake

I am going with the path to the lake as I wish I could be on such a path now.

Sweet violets shimmy, daffodils sway (Day 1)
along the wiregrass path to the lake (Day 2)

For Day 3, for Liz, and in keeping with my Food, Family, Feasts theme, please consider one of these lines:

I carry a rucksack of tasty cakes
or
the buzziness of honey bees by the bay

I can’t wait to see what Liz chooses.

2020Progressive Poem

1 Donna Smith at Mainely Write

2 Irene Latham at Live Your Poem

3 Jone MacCulloch, deowriter

4 Liz Steinglass 

5 Buffy Silverman

6 Kay McGriff at https://kaymcgriff.edublogs.org/

7 Catherine Flynn at Reading to the Core 

8 Tara Smith at Going to Walden

9 Carol Varsalona at Beyond Literacy Link

10 Matt Forrest Esenwine at Radio, Rhythm, and Rhyme

11 Janet Fagel, hosted at Reflections on the Teche

12 Linda Mitchell at A Word Edgewise

13 Kat Apel at Kat Whiskers

14 Margaret at Reflections on the Teche

15 Leigh Anne Eck at A Day in the Life

16 Linda Baie at Teacher Dance

17 Heidi Mordhorst at My Juicy Little Universe

18 Mary Lee Hahn at A Year of Reading

19 Tabatha at Opposite of Indifference

20 Rose Cappelli at Imagine the Possibilities 

21 Janice Scully at Salt City Verse

22 Julieanne Harmatz at To Read, To Write, To Be

23 Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

24 Christie Wyman at Wondering and Wandering

25 Amy at The Poem Farm

26 Dani Burtsfield at Doing the Work That Matters

27 Robyn Hood Black at Life on the Deckle Edge

28 Jessica Big at TBD      

29 Fran Haley at lit bits and pieces

30 Michelle Kogan

Irene Latham who began this poem project back in 2012, has handed it over to Margaret Simon to organize.  I am so grateful to both Irene and Margaret for this wonderful April collaboration to kick of National Poetry Month.

Each day in April a different poet will add a line to this poem begun here today.  No one knows where it will go or how it will get there, but it always gets there beautifully!

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Poetry Friday: Day 3 (Choose Your Own) Progressive Poem

  1. Linda KulpTrout says:

    What a clever idea for this year’s progressive poem. I’m enjoying following along each day!

  2. jarhartz says:

    What a fun twist to this work. Paths to choose at every line.

  3. Sally Murphy says:

    I love the choose your own adventure way you are all tackling this -what a clever idea!

  4. haitiruth says:

    Yes, a path to a lake would be a great place to be right now! Nice line(s)!

  5. Michelle Heidenrich Barnes says:

    Love the choose-your-own-adventure approach to this years poem! I don’t think Liz could go wrong with either of your lines.

  6. Ha! The excitement continues. Well done, and too much fun, Jone! :0) I’m off to see if it’s cakes or bees…..

  7. Heidi says:

    Jone, it is very cool how this became a Choose your Own Adventure poem! I like both your choices and I appreciate your choice of the line with the very interesting “wire grass.” Off to see what Liz chooses!

  8. What a cool approach to the progressive poem this year! Beautiful!

  9. What fun, I like your two lines Jone they both fit so well!

  10. cweichel says:

    This is just brilliant – the idea of a choose your own adventure poem and your two options. Like others, I want to know what’s in that rucksack!

  11. rosecappelli says:

    Love the choice of going down the path! Like a few others, this is my first time participating in the progressive poem. Can’t wait to see where it ends up!

  12. lindabaie says:

    Love both your ideas, Jone. Walking to the lake certainly might need a rucksack full of goodies but then those bees will be buzzing along the way as well. Fun choices!

  13. Kay Mcgriff says:

    I love the choose your own line adventure that the progressive poem is taking, but like Leigh Anne, I’m a little nervous to come up with two lines my first year! I, too, wish I were walking down a path to the lake with something yummy in a rucksack or buzzing about.

  14. Pingback: Mouse-galleries #ThoreaulyInspired #NPM #NaPoWriMo #NationalPoetryMonth #PoetryFriday – Wondering and Wandering

  15. Pingback: Poetry Friday: #ShelterinPoems | Reflections on the Teche

  16. Jone, I want to walk with you to the lake.. .what’s in that rucksack?? Yumm… thank you for your line(s)! xo

  17. Jone, I want to walk with you to the lake… what’s in that rucksack??? Thank you for your line(s)! xo

  18. Liz Steinglass says:

    Oh my! A new layer of complexity, challenge, and fun! I’m in. Off I go to make my choice and write two lines for Buffy to choose from.

  19. Interesting approach to the progressive poem activity, choosing the next lines. So far, so good. I always like the addition of food… 🙂

  20. Pingback: Water Poems – Elizabeth Steinglass

  21. katswhiskers says:

    Oh! I forgot that the ProgressivePoem was happening. Thank-you for the heads-up with that! Loving the choice factor. I think that will be a lot of fun!

  22. Gail Aldous says:

    It’s so much fun to see how the progressive poem is written. Love both of your choices, Jone.

  23. cvarsalona says:

    Wow! Another line of choice options. I am excited that you chose the path to the lake and turned over to Liz two choices that will follow beautifully. Once again, I have a favorite.

  24. Leigh Anne Eck says:

    I love the idea of the path and wonder where it will lead. But I will be honest, I am participating for the first time and writing two line possibilities scares me! Maybe this option will become obsolete before day 15! 🙂

  25. Donna Smith says:

    I was picturing the path,too. Love your two options with two different rhyming patterns, if a pattern emerges.

  26. I like this choose-your-own-adventure style–and the two choices you handed off to Liz!

Comments are closed.