National Poetry Month: The “LL” Challenge: Cholla

2015 Double LL

chollaCholla at the Phoenix Botanical Garden,

Today’s word: CHOLLA (pronounced choy-ah)
Definition:  a desert cactus native to northern Mexico. The spines will detach easily thus sometimes called jumping cholla.

beware when
walking the desert
cholla spines
jump like fleas
it’s an unwanted surprise
like an argument

© 2015 Jone Rush MacCulloch all rights reserved

Surprise is the word of the day at A Year of Reading.

Tomorrow’s word: Duckbill

Amy is hosting Poetry Friday today.

This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, National Poetry Month, Natural World, Poetry Friday, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to National Poetry Month: The “LL” Challenge: Cholla

  1. Myra GB says:

    I love the ingenious way argument is described here as an unwanted surprise. Lovely. Hope you had a beautiful Easter celebration, Jone.

  2. OVERSTEPPING BOUNDARIES
    Cholla cactuses cling
    Their unkempt nails
    Into your world.

    (c) Charles Waters 2015 all rights reserved.

  3. Carol says:

    Jone, Like several others, I love the last two lines. Such a surprise and such a perfect metaphor! I’m going to think of this every time I shoo my dog away from the cactus plants in the next block! Or every time I get into an argument with someone!

  4. maryleehahn says:

    I knew I’d seen these somewhere — thanks for reminding me of my walk in the Phoenix Botanical Gardens, Kay!

  5. margaretsmn says:

    Love the last two lines! Whoa, where did that come from?

  6. Kay Mcgriff says:

    I’ve learned not to get too close when walking through the Phoenix Botanical Gardens. Ouch!

  7. jama says:

    Thanks for teaching me what a cholla is. Like how you described its ouch. 🙂

  8. Janet F. says:

    Amy has it nailed as do you! Wonderful poem! Again, another new word for me! Can’t wait to share with kids!

  9. I, too, love the part Amy quoted. I shall remember those words. Beautiful poem.

  10. “It’s an unwanted surprise
    like an argument”

    What a perfect way to describe this feeling. I know it from plants we have here in the Northeast too, not jumping, but one touch and ouch!

    Happy Poetry Friday, Jone! xo, a.

Comments are closed.