Sol16 Day 29 of 31: Calling the Muse

IMG_0785Everyone has a story and you can catch up on more slices for the  SOLSC at
Two Writing Teachers.

I have this verse novel manuscript that I am writing.  Well, it’s written and I’m revising it.  We actually have been on break from each other since September.

I am going to a writing retreat this coming weekend.  I’ve been a bit concerned about working on the manuscript, setting my expectations too high, and not making the most of the weekend.

So last Saturday during my counseling session we discussed my concerns.  Elizabeth Gilbert’s book, Big Magic came up.  (It’s on my hold list at the library. Update:  as of 9;50 this morning, it’s ready for me to pick up. Woohoo.) One of the cool things about my counselor is she is a painter and a creative person, so she understands the creative process.  We were able to talk about ways to call up the muse such as asking my characters what they want me to know.

When I left the session, I felt less stressed about the upcoming weekend.  I also remember what William Stafford always said, “Lower your standards.”

There are a couple of You Tube videos with Elizabeth Gilbert that have been helpful (while I wait for the book).

I’m calling you, muse. Please respond.

 

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sol16 Day 29 of 31: Calling the Muse

  1. I, too, have trouble finding my inner muse. It can be overwhelming. I think that we work ourselves up so much that we can’t find it. I know that is part of my problem.

  2. Tara Smith says:

    Yes, you and Margaret should talk!

  3. margaretsmn says:

    We should talk about verse novels sometime. I am working on one, too. Such a tricky form. How much do you tell, show, let the reader figure out? Good luck with the retreat this weekend. If you relax and go with the flow, you will probably be more open to new ideas. We writers are sensitive types.

  4. cvarsalona says:

    Your muse is looking over your shoulder, Jone. She often supports you in your writing. You are the second person to mention Elizabeth Gilbert and Big Magic. Looks like it will be one I will want to read. Have a great retreat. I am setting a goal to get Winter Wanderings up by Friday.

    • macrush53 says:

      Oh, I know what I will send this evening, it’s on my home computer. It’s the haiku I wrote for the new year.

  5. Writers always fascinate me. I love listening how they talk about their characters. I hope your muse find you!

Comments are closed.