Poetry Friday: An Autumn Septercep

IMG_1077

Thank you Catherine at Reading to the Core for hosting Poetry Friday.

Last week, I wrote a septercet in response to a challenge by Michelle at Today’s Little Ditty.

A septercet invented by Jane Yolen is  comprised of verses.

Each one (as many verses as you want) needs to have three lines, each with seven syllables. It can be rhymed or not.

20140427-211814.jpg

Signs

early mornings crisp and cool
smoke curls rising from chimneys
fog gives way to noon day sun

orange pumpkins on the vines
round globes scattered in the field
flocks of geese wing their way south

children running on the path
with the crunch of fallen leaves
autumn is whispering here

©jone rush macculloch, 2016

This entry was posted in Poetry Friday, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Poetry Friday: An Autumn Septercep

  1. dorireadsd says:

    Lovely, Jone. I’m so ready for a crisp morning!

  2. The sights and sounds of a classic autumn. Enjoy! And, nice septercet….a challenge met.

  3. This is lovely, Jone! We’ve had a few “crisp and cool” mornings in the last few days, and there are surely more to come. But since autumn is my favorite season, I welcome those whisperings!

  4. Ramona says:

    We’re having lots of foggy mornings giving way to afternoon sun. I love crisp and cool fall days! And I spied some of those beautiful round globes in a field today. Thanks for a septercet that captured much that I love about fall. Hoping we get to meet at Poetry Camp next week!

  5. katswhiskers says:

    Autumn. What is that? We have summer and winter – and a brief period of time where it can never make up its mind if it’s one or the other. But autumn doesn’t tend to visit, here. I’ll experience it through your poem, instead.

  6. Gorgeous, Jone! Send Autumn down here, would you? I could use some of those whispers.

  7. Oh, this sounds like the autumn of my dreams, the crisp, colourful autumns I grew up watching on TV and seeing in movies. Not the wet, grey, soggy, blech autumns of my home in the Pacific Northwest. I will just have to live vicariously through your lovely poem. 🙂

  8. lindabaie says:

    I love all the autumn images, the idea of whisperings, Jone. Fall is such a magical time.

  9. Nice imagery I can immediately identify with, Jone – well done!

Comments are closed.